the dance scene – dirty dancing (salsa)

dance - psd150 orgI don’t think I have put a lot of afford into introduce this movie – one of the most memorable dance  movies there is.

Latin dances have never been my forte – a cha-cha I can manage to survive through but that is about it.
But I adore watching …. *smile

“Dirty Dancing” from 1987 with set in 1963 – I don’t know how many times I have enjoyed this movie and will continue to do so.

The story about Frances “Baby” who are spending the summer in a holiday camp with her family, and falls in love with the camp’s dance instructor Johnny Castle, directed by Emile Ardolino. dirty dancing london west end - carolippolito com

I saw the musical version at the opening in London at the Aldwych theatre in October 2006, great show – they had done a fantastic job to make the musical and the scenery so true to the film as possible.

The movie is filled with dancing and great music – my favorite rack is ”She’s Like The Wind”. There some great dancing scenes like “Johnny’s Mambo” – but I just had to choose the finale scene “The Time Of My Life”

The star in this movie is Jennifer Grey as “Baby”. The film is kind of wonderful and a guilty pleasure. There is magical surrounding the story, the story about the first love and with a happy ending on top it. I’m a sucker for happy endings. This is maybe a chick movie … but it has loads of feel good.

There is no doubts that Patrick had dancing running in his veins. He really knows all the moves in a every way and he dances in a very masculine way, witch I love. Up to that he was 20 he he pursued ice skating and classical ballet. During his collage time he also studied gymnastics for two years. He was always a very good football player until a knee injury put stop to his chance to get a scholarship.dirty_dancing - impawards com

Cast
Jennifer Grey
Patrick Swayze
Jerry Orbach
Cynthia Rhodes
Jack Weston
Jane Brucker

I can’t say I have been a fan of Patrick Swayze until he did the TV-serials “The Beast” – that he filmed during his fight against the cancer, a fantastic series., but I enjoyed him in “North and South” that was broadcast 2 years before “Dirty Dancing”.

But there is something special about Patrick and “Dirty Dancing” – he plays Jonny Castle so well and the romantic story line is just lovely, with some dashes of drama.

A movie about a summer romance, don’t we all have those them to remember … personal I had a couple, but I don’t think any of them is worth doing a movie about, maybe one. *smile

This is an ultimate feel good film – and it’s a movie that capture even today’s younger viewer, that wasn’t even born when I saw it on the cinema.

Personal I think it’s the soundtrack by John Morris has made an average movie to all time classic and success.

“Nobody puts Baby in a corner”
Johnny Castle

dirty dancing - crnobelo com

“She’s Like The Wind” in original version with Patrick singing not be found on Soundcloud, so I have chosen another great track from movie – “You Don’t Own Me” – on the soundtrack its performed by The Ronettes, here with Lesley Gore from 1963. She was the first artist to record the song and sold millions. The song reached No. 2 on the Billboard Pop Singles Chart in US (just behind The Beatles’ “I Want to Hold Your Hand”).
lesley gore - last fm

Information is provided by wikipedia.org and imdb.com – thank you!
Images has been provided by and thanks to:
carolippolit.com
impawards.com
Gallery 1: people.premiere.fr/movieactors.com/rouge18.com/mgur.com/
nydailynews.com/gopixpic.com
Gallery 2; nctc.net/cuzoogle.com/digitalspy.co.uk/starpulse.com/keithcalder.com
crnobelo.com
last.fm

18 thoughts on “the dance scene – dirty dancing (salsa)

    • Jo, it’s a brilliant film without being brilliant really.
      I haven’t seen that much with Patrick Swayze, but what I have seen I like. “Ghost” is another one.
      I wish you a great weekend.

  1. This film is one of my absolute favourites – and the music – gorgeous! I totally fell in love with Patrick , bought the movie and I admit I still enjoy it…Lovely entry!

  2. I’m waiting for ‘Viveka- the Movie’ 🙂 🙂
    This is another of those songs that makes me feel ancient! How come I’m word perfect on these oldies? I must have heard the lyrics in a dream! 🙂

Leave a Reply

