the dance scene – easy virtue (argentine tango)

dance - psd150 orgI got the idea to make posts about famous movie dance scenes from movies that I still enjoy very much – when I posted an amazing Argentine tango video with the US band “OK Go” performing their hit “Skyscrapers” yesterday.

I love a good movie … I love great music and I love dancing, so I will call this section “the dance scene”. Please join me on the dance floor. *smile

When I was 16 and just moved to Gothenburg – my mum put me in a ballroom dancing school – and I kept on dancing there for nearly 3 years – until more interesting things came along, I suppose they were in shapes of young men. I just love ballroom dancing, especially  the Vienna waltz and tango, but I never danced Argentine tango. The most passionate and sensual dance there is.perez tango - tangoforge com

Argentine tango is such a sensual dance and I think that is why we remember those dancing scenes most; Chicago, Moulin Rough, Shall We Dance, Evita, Never Say Never Again, Assassination Tango, True Lies, Nine, Sent of A Woman, Easy Virtue, Solider of Orange, Rent, Mr 6 Mrs Smith and Valentino of course in The Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse from 1921.

Some actors are better dancers than others; Antonio Banderas is the best … and Sean Connery is one of the worst, but they all did a good and enjoyable afford.

Antonio Banderas is my all time favorite tango dancing actor and provides the the best  tango moves in  “Take The Lead” dancing together with Katya Virshilas. The movie is based on the life of Pierre Dulaine, a well-known ballroom dancer and a dance instructor, known for ‘Dancing Classrooms’.EasyVirtue - poster tribute ca

But my favorite tango scene is from “Easy Virtue” with Colin Firth and Jessica Biel from 2008. Stephan Elliott is the director. Maybe not the best tango dancers, but I really like the scene. The tango is called “Easy Virtue Tango” preformed and composed by Sophie Solomon.

Sophie Solomon (1978) is a British violinist, songwriter and composer. She started to play violin at the age of 2. Sophie Solomon - vkontakte dj

Cast;
Jessica Biel
Ben Barnes
Kristin Scott Thomas
Colin Firth
Kimberley Nixon
Katherine Parkinson
Kris Marshall

“Easy Virtue” is a comedy and romance movie about a young Englishman marries a glamorous American. When he brings her home to meet the parents, she arrives like a blast from the future – blowing their British stuffiness out the window.

“Easy Virtue” is a adaptation of Noel Coward’s play. Director Stephan Elliot (The Adventures of Priscilla, Queen of the Desert) has done a brilliant job.

Somebody has called it a very funny, heart-warming and delightfully movie, couldn’t agree more – and I like anything with Colin Firth. Colin Firth provides excellent acting as a member of the “lost generation” who revolts on his impossible wife (Kristin Scott Thomas) and besotted son.

Jessica Biel plays Larita, a young American widow in the 1920’s making her living as a motorist. She’s the first woman ever to win the Grand Prix in Monte Carlo, a feminist long before her time, which attracts the attention of Brit John Whittaker (Ben Barnes). Jessica Biel’s acting and her character are memorable. (quote from  Neil Welch, imdb)

It’s a very sexy movie too  and  with sexy, I  mean between Jessica Biel and Colin Firth. An very unlikely pair.

“Easy Virtue” is easy on both ears and eyes. It’s witty and wonderful.

“The length of a film should be directly related to
the endurance of the human bladder.”
Alfred Hitchcock

easy-virtue - tango -odysseeducinema fr

I’m lucky to find Jessica Biel singing “Mad About The Boy” from  movie … a brilliant old song and she handles the song great. Or what do you think ?????

Information retained from imdb.com and wikipedia.com – thank you so much!

Images provided by and thanks to;
tangoforg.com
poster.tribute.ca
vkontakte.dj
Gallery 1: syracuse.com/moviejamanonline.sit.bz/
aceshowbiz.com/film-zeit.de/vogue.es
Gallery 2; theguardian.com/baike.sogou.com/notrecinema.com/
Stopklatka.pl/aceshowbiz.com/
dysseeducinema.fr

30 thoughts on “the dance scene – easy virtue (argentine tango)

  1. 🙂 This is really nice! I like enjoy dance movies, but I don’t see them too often. I think they should be viewed in a huge old fashion cinema house, where they still have red curtains and velvet seats… too bad, that there are hardly any of them left anymore.

    I guess there will be a lot of dancing on our cruise then, too, right?
    Have a good evening, my dear! xo 🙂

    • Dia, this is not a dance movie … only one scene …. and I promise you that this film you will enjoy in company with your husband at home. Very funny and witty … brilliant film.
      But I agree … like Moulin Rouge wasn’t the same at all when I watched at home on TV.

      I really hope so that there will be lots of dancing when we cross the Atlantic. Only one number right this week. Last week not one. *smile

      Have a great week, Dia!

  2. I absolutely adore Colin Firth who ticks all my boxes from intelligence to sexual chemistry . . . . but if I want to feel good, really good, I go to YouTube and replay ‘The Scent of a Woman’ . . . I honestly do not think that can ever be repeated!!! Al Pacino: what did you do to womankind 🙂 !

    • Hi there, Eha – welcome back! I agree with you partly about “a scent of woman” – one of my favorite too, but I don’t like the end … and also Colin’s tango scene is better than Al’s in my book, it a lot to do with the tension in room .. and between the family members. I have a friend that is so likeness Al Pacion, they could be twins. Italian too .. and I say the same about him. Candy for us ladies. Have a great week now.

  3. Isn’t it delightful to have different things ‘turn’ us on 🙂 ! Just looked again at the tango which has always me feel SO good!! Nope, do not agree about Colin’s tango [clumsy and slow to me] : and I have taken time to look at some of the other
    ‘Argentinian tangos’ today also! Pacino and Anwar to me are magic and so well directed: hope we have made some of your readers go look them up 🙂 !

  4. Love the expressions on the watching faces! I agree- Colin Firth definitely has great ‘chemistry’ though I would never say he was my type. Antonio Banderas- no argument! 🙂
    The dance theme’s a good idea, Vivi. You are very knowledgeable about films.
    Hugs, darlin’.

    • Antonio is one sexy man! But I think Colin has something very special … in all films I seen with him. “King Speech” my favorite. He are not sexy – but I wouldn’t say now … if he asked. *smile
      Yes, I love a good movie – but I don’t know if my knowledge is that great …. a good movie is like a great meal.

  5. Back tracking I just spotted the reply about your shoulder problems, Vivi. I missed it before. Are you ok again now? What causes it? Silly question! If you knew you wouldn’t do it! 😦

    • Thank you for asking – my shoulder and neck is okay, it takes exactly 7 days for the pain to go away .. every time I get it.
      But it’s a hellish week. They don’t know what causes it .. but I think it’s a cold that goes wrong and it goes always to the same shoulder. Whatever it’s … it’s very painful – glad I don’t suffer that often from it.

      • You have an up and down time with pain and health, Vivi. 😦 Makes me feel very lucky. It’s lovely here today after wet misery yesterday so I’m hoping to drag ‘himself’ off out. 🙂

      • Been away for a couple of days … came home yesterday afternoon and their was a lovely postcard – thank you for making my evening.
        We had terrible weather on Tuesday with strong winds and heavy rain, but yesterday the sun was back, but it’s chilly in the air. The autumn is here. Laundry day today.

      • Washing done …. and I have also got an answer about my numb feet … not a nerve or vain problem, they think it comes from my back ??????
        I don’t have a clue what is going on. Have to start all over now. Better get my dancing shoes on. *smile

    • Yes, she is a stunning woman .. and great actress.
      I just love this tango scene, even if it’s not the best … on screen.
      Take it easy … Frank! *smile

Leave a Reply

