quick fix; creamy pasta with prosciutto

pasta & hamDonna Hay is one of my favorite cookbook authors; Donna’s career as a food writer and stylist began when she was 19. She was appointed food editor of “Marie Claire” when she was 25 and soon became food editor of “Marie Claire Lifestyle” too. Today Donna is Australia’s leading food editor and best-selling cookbook author. Her food, recipes and styling focus on basic ingredients that are simply prepared and beautifully photographed.donna hay - taste.com au

This is one of my favorite dishes out of her “Fast Weeknights” section. Easy and quick to make – but it requires lot of pots and pans, which I’m not too happy over. *smile

Creamy Pasta with Prosciutto, serve 4
400g pappardelle
1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
4 cloves garlic, sliced
½ cup (125ml) single (pouring) cream
½ cup (40g) finely grated parmesan, plus extra, to serve
12 slices (180g) prosciutto
1 cup (200g) ricotta
1 cups basil leaves, plus extra, to serve – I used frozen Italian herb mix.
sea salt and cracked black pepper
4 eggs, poached Pasta & ham page

Cook the pasta in a large saucepan of salted boiling water for 7–8 minutes or until “al dente”. Drain, reserving 1 cup (250ml) of the cooking liquid. Set aside. Heat the oil in the saucepan over medium heat, add the garlic and cook for 30 seconds. Add the cream and reserved water and cook for 1 minute. Return the pasta to the pan, with the Parmesan, ricotta and basil, sprinkle with salt and pepper and toss to combine.

Divide the pasta between 4 plates, arrange the hams slices over the pasta and top with a poached egg, extra basil leaves and grated Parmesan to serve. Pasta & ham. page 1

In Donna’s original recipe the ham is mixed into the creamy pasta – I did that the first time, but it all came out very messy. I suppose if the ham is cut up it will work, but I think it’s a true shame to cut up beautiful slices of prosciutto, that doesn’t came that cheap neither.pasta & ham page 2

Because I was a lonely diner at this time I divide the recipe into 4 and the portion comes out just perfectly.

“Life is a combination of magic and pasta.”
Federico Fellini

sliced garlic

quick-fix-logo with text

Now I have a chance to use one of my favorite songs as cloud – the biggest Australian stars ever; (Sorry, Kylie) The Bee Gees and their “How Deep Is Your Love”. Enjoy!

16 thoughts on “quick fix; creamy pasta with prosciutto

    • To be honest, I never used fresh basil … I always use frozen herb mix. I used about 1 cup in total. I think you’re right .. so I will change the recipe. Thanks for being attentive. Viveka
      The same to you!

    • I hope you will enjoy the pasta – I will do it again today with grilled chicken and bacon. So easy to make and quick.

      Yes, this song is one of my all time favorites …. Seems to be quite a few of us that likes Bee Gees.

    • Uru, I will make it again today with grilled chicken and bacon … such a great dish and easy to make – and it comes from “downunder” I’m not a big fan of prosciutto, but this dish it’s “the cream on the mash”. *smile

    • Hi there, girlfriend …. have been busy with the aftermath of our basement fire … had a long meeting with the insurance company yesterday. Came out very well .. got a good compensation.
      So I have been out shopping new shoes for the autumn and winter … all written off. Had a great time. *smile

Leave a Reply

