vienna – too hot to handle

vienna sunriseIt was truly wonderful to be back in beautiful Vienna and to spend time with my dear friends, Carol & Robert, again. Last visit I did in June 2010, far too long ago. I was so looking forward to my visit and excited as always.

I flew with Niki Air – owned by the ex-F1 driver, Niki Lauda. A great little airline. For you that don’t know Niki Lauda was he one of the most successful F1 drivers during mitt 70’s, but Lauda was seriously injured in a crash at the 1976 German Grand Prix at the Nürburgring, during which his Ferrari burst into flames and he came close to death after inhaling hot toxic fumes and suffering severe burns.

At Copenhagen Airport did I treat myself to the most expensive hamburger I ever eaten at O’Learys sportbar , together with a mineral water and the tip the bill came to 208DKR/37$/22£/28€, but it was very good.

Had plenty time to kill, it only took me a total of 13 min to check in and pass the security control, one of the reason why I think Kastrup is one of the best airport in the world. So I took Oscar for a little walk. And of course I bought myself a Kartoffelkage for the flight. *smile

I arrived late in the evening, so it was just more or less to have a chat about everything and then to bed. The first morning I woke up before 6am and I went out on their beautiful balcony and said good morning to the sunrise, the roses and the wine yard up the hill. I already then understood that Vienna was going to be a hot city.breakfast view

And Vienna became warmer for each day that passed, aorund +32c/89F – and it was really hard to be able to enjoy the city …. as I wanted too, but I tried my best. On Friday Carol and I decided to go shopping on Mariahilfer Strasse. So after breakfast with we jumped into her Mini Copper convertible and hit the city center, it was lovely to feel the wind in my hair

We really tried to give shopping a try, but it’s became a very weak attempt. Carol found a nice pair of sandals and a picture frame. I manage to find a great basket for my laundry products, luggage labels, new pump bottle for my guest hand lotion and 46 postcards.

It was some coffee breaks and escaping into AC cool department stores and shops.
After lunch we both had enough of sun and heat. I worked Oscar a little bit, but I was too hot and the sun was far too strong.shop murial

Robert, an excellent chef – served a fantastic salmon soufflé for dinner out their balcony together a perfectly chilled white Austrian wine, just what we girls needed.

At midnight I sat out on the balcony writing my first postcards from Vienna.

“The quickest way to know a woman is to go shopping with her.”
Marcelene Cox

20 thoughts on “vienna – too hot to handle

  1. Now that heavenly treat (at the airport?) looks wonderful and very low calorie. Meanwhile, oppressive heat isn’t my favorite … especially on vacation! Glad you enjoyed your visit with friends.

    • Frank, the treat I enjoyed up above the clouds … more close to heaven I could come *smile It always worth very calorie.
      No, HOThot is not my thing neither … and not in a city, but sometimes we just have to get on with it.
      The weather we can do very little about.
      Had a brilliant stay – and because I been there a couple of times before, there wasn’t that many MUST do.

    • Maralee, been to Vienna 5 times in total now .. so I have seen most of the important sights – and I have take too many shots of the beautiful buildings, so this time there wasn’t that many musts.
      We visit Bratislava for a day and that was just so pretty. There will be posts about that too. *smile

    • Uru, yes … Vienna is one of the most beautiful cities in Europe … up there with Paris, Stockholm, Amsterdam and Berlin, that is one of best even if not the most beautiful.Thanks for your lovely comment.

  2. And what a lovely surprise when I got home last night and it was here! Thank you so much, Vivi 🙂 It just oozes calories 🙂 🙂
    Heat and the city don’t mix, do they? No idea if you’re home yet but I’ll backtrack your posts for clues. Very soft, cool hugs and hoping you’re well, darlin’.

    • I thought you would like to sweet treats … *smile Glad you have received them.
      No, big city or any city don’t mix with heat … seaside perfect, but I think it has been too hot even there, at least over here the last couple of weeks.
      My knee is not doing very well, my friends lived 4 floors up with out lift and when I came home our lift is out order too – and still are. Came home Tuesday evening.
      A perfect Swedish summer hug back >>>>>> to you.

      • Our apartment in Paris was 4 floors up, no lift, so I know how you feel! A beautiful bouquet of flowers has just arrived from my lady friends. Aren’t they great? Off to sort out washing/flowers/life 🙂 Take care xx

      • Oh, you have been in Paris … can’t wait to read your story. Flowers!!! Wonderful, your friends got it right we should have the flowers when we are alive and not after …
        Wonderful thought.
        Go easy with the washing … enjoy the flowers and take life as it comes. *smile
        Congratulation to you both!!!!

  3. Fantastic pics again, Viveka. That must have been some amazing hamburger and mineral water! I’m so glad that Niki Lauda made such and amazing recovery from his injuries. He’s a fighter, for sure. I love going shopping with girlfriends too. Your purchases sound quite restrained, but that’s a lot of postcards. 🙂 Happy weekend to you. xx

    • Thank you so much! Vienna is a fantastic object for cameras.
      Sylvia, the burger was very good – but not worth the price, but CPH airport is very expensive and of course with the Danish Krone being stronger than the Swedish Krona. But we only live once … and I was hungry.
      Niki Lauda had is Lauda Air for about 20 years now … Niki Air I don’t know when he started … but he is in partnership with FinnAir and Air Berlin. What I like is that the crew uniform is jeans and always been. Before the crews wore baseball caps, like Niki always does since his accident to hide some of his burn scars in his face. Terrible accident.
      I love to receive and get postcards …. Most of all I love the picking and choosing of the cards.
      Normally I’m a not more adventures when I shop in Vienna, but the heat … but my last day it rained a little and I picked up on the shopping. *smile

  4. 🙂 I see Vienna with different eyes now that I’ve seen your pictures!
    Lovely post, dear Wivi and I can understand why you’re traveling via Copenhagen. It’s been so long ago that we traveled via there – wood floors, if I remember correctly and only nice people. What a nice way to start a holiday!
    Sleep tight xo 🙂

    • Thank you so much for your lovely comment. I think the wooden floors are gone … to be honest I have never given the flooring a thought – I will check it when I fly to Chicago.
      It’s a very pricey airport and I never buy anything in their tax free shop, it’s the same owner to their shop as it’s to Vienna’s. But prices a lot higher, all regulate to the local retail prices, I think.
      Still it’s a great airport and very efficient, plus as you say – very, very friendly everywhere.
      I was impressed by your new airport – couldn’t believe my eyes when I landed, where did that little terminal go and where did this modern “monster” come from … through only 4 years’ time.

  5. You managed well despite the heat, I’m sure. Lovely shots and surprising dinner at the airpost…I wanted to treat my collegue to a kartoffelkage when we went to Köge (again…) last week, but after my description he thought he wouldn’t manage it. Poor him!

    • Have you been back in Köge without me????!!!! *crying
      Your colleague didn’t have a clue what he missed out on.
      Did you visit the flower shop????

Leave a Reply

