off side in the shoe shop

shoe shopping - perfecte md

You’re in a shoe shop, second in the queue for the till. Behind the shop assistant on the till is a pair of shoes which you have seen and which you must have….

The female shopper in front of you has seen them also and is eyeing them with desire. Both of you have forgotten your purses. It would be rude to push in front of the first woman if you had no money to pay for the shoes.

The shop assistant remains at the till waiting.

Your friend is trying on another pair of shoes at the back of the shop and sees your dilemma. She prepares to throw her purse to you. If she does so, you can catch the purse, then walk round the other shopper and buy the shoes! At a pinch she could throw the purse ahead of the other shopper and “whilst it is in flight” you could nip around the other shopper, catch the purse and buy the shoes!

BUT, you must always remember that until the purse has “actually been thrown”, it would be plain wrong for you to be in front of the other shopper and you would be OFFSIDE! (text from bbc.co.uk)

 “Soccer is a magical game.”
David Beckham

WC 2014 - samaa tv

Images provided by and thanks to;
perfecte.md/samaa.tv/jokeoverflow.com

 

29 thoughts on “off side in the shoe shop

  1. 😀 Oh, gosh, it just dawned on me…took me a couple of seconds to realize why you are talking about 😀
    Great way to explain off side.
    Although I still haven’t understood it – I was too fascinated with the shoe story…will she throw the purse or not? xo

    • Dia, I’m sure that she will throw the purse. I found it on BBC*s blog – brilliantly written. I know what an offside is – but I think this is so cleverly written, but I think that if you don’t know what an off side is – this will not make you any wiser. *smile

  2. shoe football lol; there is another possible outcome – your friend could throw you the purse, then you could buy the shoes for the lady in front of you, thus shocking everyone 😀

    • *smile … I don’t think that the story had anything to do with the picture I chosen. Not any shoes I would have chosen neither.
      But I like my high heels at the right occasions

  3. It took me the length of your post to make out and laugh also . . . . sorry, not a footie gal . . . . what I know would not win me any prizes . . . and I know the Aussies are trying but have lost out in the first draw . . . . shall keep my eye on it 🙂 !

    • I like soccer – but I haven’t watched one match this time.
      Sweden didn’t make it to Brazil and there lays my interest. I think its fun to watch if the match is interesting and fun, but this World Cup … I’m not bothered. I hope Brazil wins, because the play fun soccer, Germany is a strong team every time, but so boring to watch.
      Just found this little story entertaining.

      • Soccer was virtually unknown here when I first arrived – there are a number of Australian football codes using an oblong ball and an awful lot of rough tackling: have never become interested! Yes, we made it to Brazil, but were not expected to win and did not get past the first round from what I understand on the evening news . . .

      • Australian football is one tough game – worst the rugby. Only watched on TV a couple of times. So you made it to Brazil, great news … more than Sweden and UK did.
        I hope Brazil wins, that would be so fantastic for the hosting country. I think Germany will be in top 4 too.

  4. Brasil and Chile were just engaged in a penalty shoot out as I came to this post, Vivi. I had to stop reading! 🙂 I’m not much of a football fan but the drama of the shoot outs is compulsive viewing.

    • Good on you, Madhu – I can image your grandon is glued to the TV now under the World Cup. Now you can explain what “Off side” stands for.

Leave a Reply

