weekend treat – crusted lamb chops

 

main plate

My favorite meat is lamb, in any shape and form. Over the weekend I felt that it was time to go back to a recipe that I picked up while living in UK … from BBC’s TV cooking program “Ready Steady Cook” from Lesley Waters.

I haven’t done for over a year. Barnsley chops isn’t anything we really eat here in Sweden – we aren’t that big lamb eaters yet, even if it has changed a lot.
So when my supermarket sold big bags of frozen New Zealand Barnsely chops, I bought two bags. Really good quality with a really love deep color on the meat.

lamb chops page 2

I did a deadly sin when I brushed the chops with the mustard. I had put some mustard in a bowl, but when I found out that I was bit short I dipped the brush in the mustard jar. A brush that I had used on raw meat, talk about cross contamination. So I had to dump the mustard jar.

Lamb I always takes out from the fridge about 1hr before cooking and so it gets an ambient temperature. No meat should really be cooked straight from the fridge. Also lamb is a meat that should be season before it gets in the pan or on the BBQ.

garlic & mint frame

In this recipe all the seasoning is in the breadcrumbs – so no extra seasoning is needed.

I’m not able to eat Roquefort cheese, I get blisters inside my mouth the next day, so I used Danish Blue instead – that is a bit creamier and slightly milder.

The new potatoes are not in season yet, not until another 4-5 weeks. So I used the potatoes I have at home. Maybe not the most pretties ones in town, but great flavor.

lamb chops page 1

Fresh breadcrumbs in my pantry???? Don’t eat white bread or any other bread that is suitable for crumbs – only dark rye, so I use Panko crumbs.

Crusted lamb cutlets with crushed Roquefort potatoes, serves 2 – 30 min dish.

Crusted lamb cutlets/chops:
100g/3½oz fresh white breadcrumbs (used Panko)
salt and freshly ground black pepper
4 lamb cutlets
1 garlic clove, sliced
1 free-range egg, beaten
2 tbsp mustard of your liking (used sweet whole grain)
1 tbsp olive oil
25g/1oz butter
1 tbsp chopped fresh mint leaves
½ lemon, juice only

lamb chops page

Crushed Roquefort potatoes;
250g/9oz new potatoes, cooked, still warm
55g/2oz Roquefort cheese, crumbled (used Danish Blue)
small handful fresh mint leaves, chopped
salt and freshly ground black pepper
50ml/2fl oz double cream (used crème fraîche )

Don’t forget to take out the chops from the fridge about 40 min before cooking. 

  • For the crusted lamb cutlets, place the breadcrumbs, sliced garlic, salt and freshly ground black pepper into a mini blender and process until well combined. Brush the chops with the mustard on both sides. Dip the lamb cutlets into the beaten egg and then roll in the breadcrumbs.
  • Heat the olive oil in a frying pan, add the cutlets and fry on both sides until golden-brown and cooked through. Remove the lamb cutlets from the pan and set aside to rest in a warm place.
  • Add the butter, mint and lemon juice to the pan and simmer together.
  • For the crushed Roquefort potatoes, place the hot cooked potatoes into a saucepan, add the Roquefort, mint, salt, freshly ground black pepper and cream and crush roughly with the back of a fork.

lamb chops page 3

To serve, divide the crushed potatoes between two serving plates and top with the lamb cutlets. Pour over the mint and butter sauce from the pan and serve.

My old potatoes didn’t want to play around when it comes to being crushed so I made a mash out it instead.

And as I said I was a bit short on the jus – could had used more butter and lemon juice – but as you can see on my images the chops was very moist and perfectly cooked.

If you like lamb, this is a quick and easy dish … that goes down like a treat.’chop close up

As cloud I can’t really use “Mary Has A Little Lamb” – so because I have used a Danish cheese (the Danes makes great cheeses)  – have I chosen Denmark’s entry this year to the Eurovision Song Contest, one of my favorites.  Basim singing “Cliché Love Song” – a happy beat.

18 thoughts on “weekend treat – crusted lamb chops

    • Lamb in all shapes and forms. thank you … !!!
      I can see there is no problem with what to put on the table when you’re visiting. Great!!!!!

    • In Sweden, nearly nobody was eating lamb, but since we started to go to the Mediterranean countries for holiday it has slowly changed. On good restaurants there has been lamb cutlets or racks .. but nothing we eat to everyday.
      And in normal supermarkets we can’t get fresh lamb, my supermarket has at times – no very often. That is because of all the immigrants that we have here in Landskrona, that eats lamb.

  1. Well, one cannot live in Australia and dislike lamb 🙂 ! I love it but my wallet does not – you buy it more cheaply than we can, as we need the export dollar!!!! Am interested that panko crumbs have made it to Europe as well – they are quite the favourite here if one wants to crumb any protein. Altho’ am not a potato eater do like your blue cheese ones and love your lamb. Love your medium grilling – lamb should show pink 😀 !! Yum!!!

    • Wow, I didn’t know that lamb was expensive “down under” – you know I’m planning a trip to Australia during the upcoming years and I so looking forward to the great food I will be eating.
      Panko, about 2 years ago not to be found expect in Asian stores – now every supermarket has it.
      How come you don’t eat potatoes???, I couldn’t live without my spuds. *smile Lamb has to be slightly pink when it’s about chops and cutlets, but so easy to overcook.

      • Well, the $A is roughly equivalent to the $US, so – lamb culets will set you back about $23 a Kg! And one cannot buy any lamb under about $10 Kg! Don’t know about you – that for me, compared to other meats is expensive!! OK – potatoes: a mixture of reasons: as you probably realize I am a nutritionist amongst other ‘occupations’ and I do not like the HGI and HGL of potatoes; besides they taste the nicest fried or with sour cream etc – again against my ‘religion’ 🙂 ! But most – I have become so used to eating brown rice, polenta, couscous, various kinds of beans, all the Asian noodles like Udon, Hokkien etc – I simply do not think of it – many meals as todays’ lunch just past: grilled marinated pork forequarter chop with a huge salad of some 8-9 salad ingredients and herbs! Vive la difference 🙂 !

      • A lot cheaper than what we have to pay for fresh lamb, Swedish or NZ. UK and Ireland, great quality and reasonable priced.
        Baked potatoes …. with sour cream and … bacon bits. Love it.
        Polenta is very nice and couscous is one of my favorite, not that keen on plain rice. Noddles and pasta, I like too, but I don’t cook it that often, don’t really know why.
        Going to have apple and maple syrup pork filet tonight for dinner. Don’t eat lunch as such, just a cup of yogurt and a fruit. Never cooked when I’m at home … holiday I take a nice salad or something.
        I have put on weight, 5 kilo .. so I have to stop eating toast with cheese and marmalade in the evening as a snack while watching TV. Something I stated with about 2 months ago. No goer from now on *smile – only time I weight myself is when I do my lymph fluid check up, 2 per year.
        Totally agree …. let us be different. *smile

      • Am back ’cause in the midst of work realized about your longterm commitment to beautiful Ireland besides your usual habits in Sweden – well, as the saying goes: ‘dina fesh’ : I do understand Ireland’s love of and need of potatoes 😀 !! I do steam some when the asparagus arrives in early spring – together with some prosciutto crudo a ‘mean’ meal 🙂 !

      • We Swedes loves our potatoes too … in all forms and shapes. I couldn’t be without them .. eat potatoes 4 times per week. Sweden was a very poor country too – once and the potatoes was a must in those days.
        I love asparagus too – season now … eat that every week to, during season.

    • Thanks, Sylvia – yes they came out great .. wish I had more jus with them.
      The song is great … one of my favorite this year in the Eurovison. Austria won. Sweden came 3rd.

Leave a Reply

