chr’s kloka ord – words of wisdom, #5

CHR 1

“Välkomna oväntade händelser, ta vara på slumpen”

Is it that most of the time when something unexpected happens, we get stressed and don’t really like the idea that things suddenly changed. It happened so often to me, couple of times daily during my working years. I’m a planner and to be thrown off track was never comfortable. Mostly because we where always work against the clock, quality and guest.

CHR #5

But the last 10 years I learned how to handle it when it happen, it is not really the end of the world – and I also learned how to take advantages of the event and turn it into something positive. I must admit it doesn’t work every time.

Maybe the saying – the older we get the wiser we get too – is true, but I’m not all that convinced. On the other hand do I have loads of common sense.

I love to plan and I’m pretty good to keep to the plans I made – every time I think it’s the best plan laid, but there is always happening something.
I’m a very good organizer when needed to – but otherwise I’m all over the place, many things going on at the same time. Jumping back and forward with them.

After my retirement I’m so much more easy going – if my plan doesn’t work – not the end of the world, I just take it from the event and carry on.

Somebody has said, that when the devil becomes old she becomes religious – I think this very close to the truth about me.

To be able to turn the unexpected into an advantage isn’t the easiest thing to do.
That is why I need to have a couple of impulsive friends.

Then when it’s about love – just bring on the unexpected, there I’m the opposite.

chr 5

 

11 thoughts on “chr’s kloka ord – words of wisdom, #5

  1. I think you and I have similar outlooks! I love spontaneity now (when my health is up to it!), but not when I was working so much. 🙂 Carpe Diem, who knows how long you have?

    • When I visit my doctor a couple of a months ago – she asked about my sexlife … and I said I can still spell the word. *smile
      I totally agree with you – I’m luck because I got a second chance on life !!!! And I wouldn’t like to know neither.

  2. I love a good plan. I love to work through that plan. When there are things I “have” to do I love a plan. When there are things I “get” to do, I love what happens. 😉

    • I love to plan too … especially when it’s about travelling.
      Never worked with or do it notes, but when working there was planned days, but they went out the window after only a couple of minutes, because other things happened around us. I hated it.
      I agree without you that when something happened as planned, it feels so good.

    • I have tried mediation once … but I have such bad concentration ability.
      But I have friends that meditate and they seem to handle street and un-expected events a lot better than I do.

  3. We could make a good team. 🙂 You supply the common sense and the food ‘know how’ and I’ll do the other bits. Sometimes I think I’m mellowing with age, Vivi, then I flare up in a temper. But I’m soon sorry because I hate not being friends with people.
    I like this series. All over the place… yes, that describes me sometimes 🙂

    • Jo, we will be a fantastic team together … running around like headless chickens, for one project to another – but I also know that we will finish them up to very high standards.
      I have mellowed a lot during the last 10 years .. it takes to much energy to become upset over small … things. I need my energy to be spent on more fun things those days.
      Travel safely, Girlfriend – and enjoy every moment.

  4. Thank you for posting this, Viveka. I am a planner, and with my husband’s injury, any plans for several months are thrown out the window. Things are a bit chaotic and I’m usually very organized. But, worst of all, seeing my brave husband deal with the physical limitation is heartbreaking. At the same time, he is handling it fantastically. I’m so proud of him.

    Anyway, your post was perfect timing. It reminded me to just take it easy and go with the flow. Hugs.

    • Lori, it hurts to read about your husband’s fight – mentally and physical. Yes, life just throws us around and the best plan lay … is useless. I understand that you’re in pain now .. because to be a bystander is a tough place to be.
      My thoughts goes out to you two.
      So happy that my post gave you comfort.

Leave a Reply

