“you can take – you can give”

bring him home - di-arezzo jp

Les Miserable – first time and only time I seen it was in London 1992. The first musical/show I was to in London, but under my years in UK and Ireland – I must have seen about 100 in total. I have seen “Mamma Mia” – 8 times … and I would see it again.
I can’t say that Les Mis – is one of my favourites …. but I haven’t seen the movie neither, but there is some beautiful music to enjoy.
Why we didn’t click … was probably because its very long and a very depressing story line. It was the same thing with ABBA’s “Chess” – love the music, but had problems with the story.

Anyhow this is my absolute favorite song from Les Mis; Bring Him Home – where Valjean begs God to save Marius and return Marius to Cosette.

Here preformed by famous – The Piano Guys. Enjoy!

“Bring Him Home”
Claude-Michel Schönberg & Herbert Kretzmer

“God on high
Hear my prayer
In my need
You have always been there

He is young
He’s afraid
Let him rest
Heaven blessed.
Bring him home
Bring him home
Bring him home.

He’s like the son I might have known
If God had granted me a son.
The summers die
One by one
How soon they fly
On and on
And I am old
And will be gone.

Bring him peace
Bring him joy
He is young
He is only a boy

You can take
You can give
Let him be
Let him live
If I die, let me die
Let him live
Bring him home
Bring him home
Bring him home.”

les-miserables_ mhsmustangnews com

Photos provided by and thanks to; emedjimurje.hr/mhsmustangnews.com/di.arezzo.jp

5 thoughts on ““you can take – you can give”

  1. My reactions were just like yours. And for me, too, Mama is an all-time favorite. I don’t think I’ll every tire of it! I’m back on line, home from week in Indianapolis: weather was bad but time with family was good. Saw Grand Budapest Hotel – great fun!! Best, always
    Mary at Variety, the Spice of Life

    • Mary, I have so hard for musicals that doesn’t provide any laughter .. and humor.
      The Phantom was the same .. but I could handle that because of the stunning set on stage – candles and boat … good knows what.
      I tell you a story about “Miss Saigon” first time I saw it in London I fell to sleep during the most of the first act – second was good with the helicopter and the songs was great. So a friend invited me to the Belfast Opera House as a birthday treat, because she hadn’t seen it .. and I had slept most of it.
      And we BOTH fell to sleep during the first act. The first act is so boring.
      Musical has to be lively and fun .. and great music of course.
      Wow, never heard anything about that film – but I’m a big fan of Ralph Fiennes and I see that an other of my favorite actors is in it too: Edward Norton. Long time since I saw him in a movie. That film I have to bookmark. Thanks for the tip.

  2. Could two posts be more different, Vivi? This is such beautiful music. I’ve never seen the show but you’re right- the music is incredible. Warm hug! I have enjoyed sharing with you today so much. I’m coming to get some chicken next 🙂

Leave a Reply

