“while to that rock I’m clinging”

How Can I Keep From Singing - bethsmusicnotes.blogspot com

Today I came across the most beautiful song with I worked with a  blog challenge – and I just have to do a post about it.
Everyone that knows me by now – knows that I’m not a believer as such, but it doesn’t me stop from listen to and enjoy Christian songs.

“And when they had sung an hymn,
they went out into the mount of Olives.”
Bible quote

How Can I Keep From Singing?” (also known by its incipit “My Life Flows On in Endless Song”) is a Christian hymn with music written by American Baptist minister Robert Wadsworth Lowry. The song is frequently, though erroneously, cited as a traditional Quaker hymn. The original composition has now entered into the public domain, and appears in several hymnals and song collections, both in its original form and with a revised text.

The song received new prominence in 1991 when Enya released a recording of the hymn on her album “Shepherd Moons”. It was also released as a single in November of the same year, with Oíche Chiún and ‘S Fagaim Mo Bhaile appearing as additional tracks.

And Eva Cassidy had a mega hit with this song – released on her album “Eva by Heart” in1998
Also Bruce Springfield recorded for his album “We Shall Overcome: The Seeger Sessions”

The lyrics are written by Robert Lowry in the 1869 song book – but Doris Plenn learned the original hymn from her grandmother, who reportedly believed that it dated from the early days of the Quaker movement. Plenn contributed the following verse around 1950, which was taken up by Pete Seeger and other folk revivalists:

“When tyrants tremble, sick with fear,
And hear their death-knell ringing,
When friends rejoice both far and near,
How can I keep from singing?
In prison cell and dungeon vile,
Our thoughts to them go winging;
When friends by shame are undefiled,
How can I keep from singing?”

I have read somewhere that this hymn was used in the “Lord of the Rings” – but I can’t find it on any of the official soundtracks.

It is also sung by Dahlia Malloy (Minnie Driver) in the episode ‘Virgin Territory’ from Season One of FX’s The Riches.

In his radio singing debut, actor Martin Sheen performed this song (using the Plenn–Seeger lyrics) on A Prairie Home Companion in September 2007.

It has been used on the 2009 Christmas advertisement for the UK supermarket, Waitrose, in a performance by Camilla Kerslake.

enya_lesien.free fr

“Who Can I Keep From Singing ”
“My life goes on in endless song
above earth’s lamentations,
I hear the real, though far-off hymn
that hails a new creation

Through all the tumult and the strife
I hear it’s music ringing,
It sounds an echo in my soul.
How can I keep from singing?

While though the tempest loudly roars,
I hear the truth, it liveth.
And though the darkness ’round me close,
songs in the night it giveth.

No storm can shake my inmost calm,
while to that rock I’m clinging.
Since love is lord of heaven and earth
how can I keep from singing?

When tyrants tremble, sick with fear,
And hear their death-knell ringing,
When friends rejoice both far and near,
How can I keep from singing?

In prison cell and dungeon vile,
Our thoughts to them go winging;
When friends by shame are undefiled,
How can I keep from singing?”

Text and information thanks to wikipedia.org
Images provided by and thanks to:
bethsmusicnotes.blogspot.com/lesien.free.fr/filmyodisha.com

24 thoughts on ““while to that rock I’m clinging”

  1. Dear Viveka, thank you for sharing this beautiful song… indeed even amidst trials, problems and uncertainties, the Lord’s faithfulness quiets our hearts so we can sing to praise and give HIM glory. such an inspiring song to start a beautiful day for me and i guess in your case, a beautiful song to kiss your day good night 🙂 thank you for your inspiration…

    • My pleasure, I know how much God means to you and your life – and you know me that don’t have the same faith as you, but believe in other ways.
      I love this song – and when I did the post I was thinking of 3 … of my blogging sisters and you are one of them.
      Good Night, April.

    • Uru, I had a couple of good days .. but this weekend it has been rough again, but not much I can do about it.
      Have increase the pills in the morning with one – after talking to the doctor, and it seems to work .. it gives relief.
      It’s the nerves that are damage … and damage nerves can never be fixed. Otherwise everything is just fine.

Leave a Reply

