scents of a woman

fragrances  - stylelist com

One of my other guilty pleasures is, fragrances. I have a whole draw full of fragrances – well-kept in their boxes .. not a big draw but – big enough. Enjoy to looking out for new fragrance’s that isn’t known to and worn by every woman alive. This is the parade of fragrances that has been the most important to me over roughly 40 years. I only have two fragrances open at the time, one for day wear and one for evening. I really rarely use the same both day and evening. So let’s start !!!

courreges-empreintes-monpetitflacon fr

No.1
EMPREINTE – Andre Courreges
Launched 1971
“ Empreinte” is a floral, oriental sensual fragrance.
A very feminine scent for evening wear.

Top notes; peach, bergamot, artemisa, aldehyde & coriander
Heart notes; jasmine, rose, orris & melon
Base notes; amber, patchouli, cedarwood, sandalwood, oak moss & castoreum

This fragrance I got as a gift from my “boyfriend” in Monte Carlo in 1972 and I used it for years … and every evening I used it created compliments from both sexes, but especially men. A wonderful fragrance that I missed for years. Found it again in Biarritz, 30 ml bottle, 3 years ago -so it’s back in my draw. Probably my first real fragrance ever – at least the first I can remember.

amore with love  - sv-parfum ru

No. 2
AMORE WITH LOVE – Guerlain
Launched 2005
“Amore with Love ” is a sparkling, romantic scent for women. A very pretty smell. An all day wear.

Top notes: mandarin orange and lemon.
Heart notes: lily and freesia.
Base notes: sandalwood, musk and cedar.

This fragrance did I came across on Ebay, because of the price – got it for close to nothing, was a bit curious too – knew nothing about it and I start it as an everyday wear. Already the first day – my female environment start to give me compliments – so there is a new bottle in my draw. Sadly the fragrance is now discontinued. It has no rose tones – and smell like the loveliest rose imaginable. There is still some bottles out there for about £75.00. One of the most romantic frangances I used.

carolina_herrera_perfumesgold com

No.3
CAROLINE HERRERA – Caroline Herrera
Launched 1988
“Caroline Herrera” a sophisticated, exotic, feminine, sparkling … Caroline Herrera’s signature scent for women The perfume is housed in a romantic, statuesque bottle representing the confident and alluring jus inside evoking the flavor of warm nights in Venezuela, the creator’s country of origin. Formal use.

Top notes: orange blossom, bergamot & green note
Heart notes: jasmine, tuberose, narcissus & ylang-ylang
Base notes: sandalwood, cedarwood, vetiver, & amber

This fragrance and I met in Canada 1989 – love at first sight .. and I wore it for years. People came up to me and asked what fragrance I wore. In those days the package was yellow with black dots, just like her dresses for the Miss World competition – that made her famous. Will get a new one during my visit in US this summer.Sung - fragrantica com

No. 4
SUNG – Alfred Sung
Launched 1986
“Sung” A perfume that fuses elegant white flowers with fresh and sensual accents.

Top notes: orange, mandarin orange, galbanum, hyacinth, ylang-ylang, bergamot & lemon
Heart notes: osmanthus, jasmine, lily of the valley & iris
Base notes: amber, sandalwood, orange blossom, vanilla & vetiver

We also met during my time in Canada and I became obsessed with it – wore it every day for years and we still have a relationship and it is my every day wear for the moment. Only one problem with it – all the bees loves it too – so it’s a no-goer during the summer months.

murano - preisvergleich org

No. 5
EAU DE MURANO – Murano
Launded 1994
“Eau De Murano” is classified as a refined, flowery fragrance. This feminine scent possesses blend of a rosy bouquet in the classic sense. For evening wear.

Top notes; west indian bay, bergamot & pink pepper
Heart notes; vanilla, cedarwood & peony
Base notes; sequoia wood, tonka & amber.

We met over Ebay 5 years ago. All because of the bottle’s little “hat”. Bought it very cheap and we have been friends ever since. Can’t get it anymore from anywhere!!! Except 5ml mini bottle from USA – but far too small, is missed.armand_basi_irecommend ru

No. 6
BASI FEMME – Armand Basi
Launched 2000
“Basi Femme” the original perfume from the series of “peaceful non-assertive”, which can only be felt on skin. Have quite strong top notes, but they fade away very quickly and give a soft flowery sense. Daily use.

Top notes: coriander; Spanish plums, grass & bitter orange
Heart notes; black currant, rose, violet leaves, jasmine, pink pepper and peony
Base notes; rosewood, oakmoss, conifer, white musk, amber and vanilla.

What I wear today for special occasions … the bottle called on me when I was walking through Stansted Airport, London. Didn’t really care how it smelled on me – just fell in love with the bottle. We agree very well. This is my formal wear just now. 

private-collection-ardemagazine com

No. 7
PRIVATE COLLECTION – Estee Lauder
Launched 1973
“Private Collection” is a luxurious, exotic, confident, feminine, flowery and elegant fragrance. For evening wear.

Top notes; green accord, citrus oils & hyacinth
Heart notes; jasmine, reseda, narcissus, rose & pine needle
Base notes; oakmoss, cedar, musk & amber

What a fantastic love affair we had … even if nearly every woman around me wore it to. We all went mental when it was launched. Something very special about this fragrance, but it was my last big launched fragrance I ever bought – even if it’s timeless. Our love affair is done and over, but no regrets!FERRE_GOLD_ 99perfume com

The Ulitmate ONE
FERRE PARFUME by Gianfranco Ferre
Launched; 1991
“Ferre Parfume” is classified as a refined, gentle, floral fragrance. This feminine scent possesses a blend of classic floral, soft and elegant. It is recommended for evening wear.

Top notes; green accord, orange, lemon, peach, oak moss & neriol
Heart notes; jasmine, orange blossom, rose, mimosa, passion fruit, ylang-ylang & lily-of-the-valley
Base notes; spices, musk, sandalwood, vanilla, stryax & iris

We met and fell in love at Dickins & Jones exclusive department store on Regent Street in London – today H&M. It was being launched and 100ml cost me than £69. Today is it nearly impossible to get hold of- in Japan, Germany and US if lucky. Today the price for 50ml is the same as I paid for 100ml in 1991. This is the fragrance that I have love the most. Hopefully one day I will be wearing it again

To last I want to introduce you to what is in my draw today – waiting to be used and abused:

“A women who doesn’t wear perfume has no future“
Coco Chanel

Perfume - filmmusic ru

As cloud over this post have I chosen “Meeting Laura” from the movie “Perfume – The Story of a Murderer” – one of my favorite movies, but I haven’t read the book – here performed by Chen Riess and Berliner Philharmoniker with Sir Simon Rattle. One of the most beautiful soundtracks – so suitable to the little macabre story. A movie worth a post.

24 thoughts on “scents of a woman

    • Had a bottle couple of years ago – it’s wonderful. Understand you choice, but like in everything else I get bored after a while … so I now only buy 50ml bottles.

    • That’s a pity …. I never wear when I go to any hospital, I can image all the different fragrances they have to work through in day. Poor souls.

  1. Very knowledgeable, Vivi 🙂 I tend not to wear perfume in the daytime unless I’m meeting up with someone. For many years I was a Guerlain girl and still have a soft spot for Shalimar.
    You smell divine, my love. No sweaty hugs today 🙂

    • Not that knowledge …. all information with help of Google.
      I like Shalimar too.
      Nighly hugs …. early start – hospital = new doctor, old problem = not much hope of help *smile

      • Jo, hopefully this will help me … have to carry on with new pills for 3 weeks … and doctor will contact me. But the pills gives strange reactions that have to get use to.

      • Raining hard here this morning (can’t remember the last time!) and just crawled out from under that duvet and seen your messages. 🙂 Coffee and Viveka- it’s a great start to the day!
        I’m hoping and wishing for you, love. There has to be a way in this clever modern world of ours. Stay snuggled 🙂 Very soft morning hug!

      • Jo, Good Morning … just had my coffee too. We have a birght day, but no sun as such .. but we had some sunshine yesterday morning.
        Woke up early this morning, but I have been sleeping for nearly 12 hours total.
        A still in bed hug … *smile

  2. Guerlain… for decades! 🙂 and recently “Wish”(Chopard) and “green tea”(Elizabeth Arden)… have a sunny day and friendly thoughts from France aka “perfume land”! 🙂

    • Yes, France … have been the leading for 100rds of years … but US and Italy is coming strongly – but they are probably mixed in Grasse. *smile

  3. Great song and information! I cannot be even NEAR very strong scents but lucky you can my dear V!

      • It was very good and most people can wear perfume I do love the packaging especially!

      • I’m the same as you …. I’m a sucker for beautiful package and bottles and of course that is what draws me to a fragrance before I try it. Also that is also the most expensive part when creating a new fragrance, design of bottle and package. The fragrance cost pennies in itself to make.

      • They have done some remarkable things over the years. Some of the Vintage are my favorites! Do you collect them?

      • No, but I collected miniature bottles for many years .. and I have them all in a small display cabinet on the wall in my bedroom.

      • I love the mini’s. I used to have some. I remember when all the big companies introduced them with the mini size.

        I love vintage anything!

Leave a Reply

