he waits and that’s what he does – here’s to waiting

This is the best video commercial ever made – and I know I’m not the only one with this opinion.  

I’m not a lover of commercials, but  there is some that have always stayed with me through the years. This is one that I can watch time after time and forget that it is a commercial for a beer – and beer I don’t drink. 

“Surfer” is a critically acclaimed integrated advertising campaign launched in 1999 by Diageo to promote Guinness-brand draught stout in the United Kingdom. The cornerstone of the campaign is a television commercial, originally 60 seconds long, which centred around a Polynesian surfer successfully taking on a gigantic wave.

Shot in Hawaii over a nine-day period and directed by Jonathan Glazer, the piece went on to win more awards than any other commercial in 1999 (Clio Awards, D&AD Awards, Cannes Lions), and in 2002 was voted the “Best ad of all time” ad. (text; en.wikipedia.org)

“Drinking beer doesn’t make you fat,
It makes you lean…. Against bars, tables, chairs, and poles.”
Gerard Way

Featured photo provided by and thanks to: en.wikipedia.org

20 thoughts on “he waits and that’s what he does – here’s to waiting

  1. Loved the lean quote, used to love beer; then developed an allergy to it when I got pregnant…one sip and I sneeze like crazy. Prefer wine and martini’s nowdays, lol.

    • Hi there, Danny … yes, it an amazing add. Never seen it on TV. I saw in the British program about the ads of the century and it has since then stayed with me. Things are okay with me .. steady, but I still have my sore butt problem, but more good days than bad. Thank you so much for asking. Will be over and visit you soon again, so behind with catching up ..

    • ja, visst är den … har dock aldrig sett den på TV medan jag bodde där över, men jag kommer ihåg när det blev vald till århundradets bästa reklam film.

Leave a Reply

