a lovestory without a hope

diana- hqwallbase com

I think all of us remember where we were and what we were doing when the news about the tragic accident in Paris came through. I was in Dover on the evening/night shift at the land based kitchen.

A couple of days after her death I visit one of our staff, George – one of our F&B-Managers, that lived in Dover. Of course we talked about her death and George told me that his best friend were responsible for the Queen Mother’s household at Clarence House in London. His friend had said to him that “what ever the press print – is there no romance what so ever between Diana and Dodi”.diana & hasnat - nation.com pkSo when the rumors  started to leak out about “Mr Wonderful”, Hasnat Khan – who was Diana’s lover for two years before their relationship broke down shortly before her death alongside Dodi Fayed in 1997. My thoughts went back to George and what he said. What I understand was Diana close to the Queen Mother.

So I watched “Diana” the other night – and I must say I liked the movie – even it hadn’t got a very good reviews. Don’t think there will be an Oscar in sight. The film is based on facts, rumors, hearsay from Diana’s friends. What I understand was Hasnat very upset over the movie.

In an interview he said; “There wasn’t any hierarchy in our relationship. She wasn’t a princess and I wasn’t a doctor. “We were friends, and normal people stand like friends with each other.
“That one still picture told me a lot about how they will portray things in the film and I can see it is wrong.” Also he couldn’t see that the movie will be doing that well – and I think he was right

Diana

Anyhow I took it for what it is – a bittersweet love story with the most heartbreaking ending. I think, even if the critics didn’t like the movie, what a surprise!!! Ordinary people liked it

• Took me by surprise – decent film!
• Must-see film about heroic champion for peace
• Beautiful
• Intimate and touching
• Phenomenal one of this year’s best – don’t believe the critics
• One of the most beautiful movies
Of course was there negative critics too.;
• Soulless and mechanical
• Bad Directing, Poor Editing
• Two hours I’ll never get back.
• Melodramatic Sludge

Everything about the film you can find at IMDB – Diana (2013) and the movies official website;  Diana – the legend is never the whole story.Diana-mdb com

Naomi Watts, plays Lady Di and I think she does it with grace and respect. It can,t be easy to portray an icon like Diana. I really like Naomi Watts as an actor – one of her best parts she did against Viggo Mortensen as Anna in “Estern Promises” (2007). A movie I really recommend, but it’s not a family movie.

 

Naveen Andrew, who plays Dr Khan – I know very little about – but in his character he truly is Mr Wonderful and I would had fallen in love with him too, even if I don’t like men that smokes. Haveen has the most beautiful hands.

Naveen is of Indian origin born in London – and he had parts in “Lost”, “Law & Order, Special Victim Unit” and just now active as Jafar in the American/Canadian TV-series “Once Upon a Time in Wonderland”oliver hirschbiegel - scmp com

The movie is directed by German born director Oliver Hirschbiegel and who are also behind one of my favorite movies “Five Minutes Of Heaven” (2007) with Liam Neeson and James Nesbitt, about the tragedies of Northern Ireland.

diana_ rlslog net

“Diana” is 2 hrs long and I didn’t find it boring for one minute – and I have never been that much into everything about Diana and her life. It was a movie done with respect and I really want the story line to be true – because she most have been the most lonely woman in the world … and that she had happiness in her life, even if it was only for 2 years.

To marry the British Royal Family as young girl and still a virgin – then to find out that her husband loves somebody else and be left on her own. Absolute heartbreaking.

“If you find someone you love in your life, 
then hang on to that love.”
Princess Diana

“Ne me quitte pas” are used in the movie, but not to be found on the official soundtrack. Wonder why????!!! Of course is it Jacques Brel that sings his own, so famous song.

Photos provided by and thanks to;
hqwallbase.com/ nation.com
Gallery 1; emptyscreens.com/vk.com/dailymail.co.uk/simonprior.com
Gallery 2; tvrage.com/tbreak.com
imdb.com/scmp.com/rlslog.net/ilsipontino.net

21 thoughts on “a lovestory without a hope

  1. Thanks for the review Viveka. I appreciated Diana for all of the good she tried to do. I have often felt, from stories and interviews she did, that there was something ‘lonely’. But it was only a feeling, of course I have no way of knowing. If I get a chance I would see this movie.

    • Personally I mixed feeling about what she did .. and how she at times used the press for her own gain. But with the landmines she have made a hug difference – she did a brilliant job there. Then I there was other things she did .. I didn’t approve on.
      I think she was one of the most famous women in the world, but she was terrible lonely – chased where ever she went, but she had some part in that too … sometimes she wanted the media there .. sometimes she didn’t. I think you will enjoy the movie – if you take it for what it’s – an romantic movie without the happy end.

  2. I am such a sucker for love stories…this movie I HAVE to see and I really don’t care what other people say or think. 😀 Knowing myself I’ll by it as a DVD and then watch it at home with a big box of Kleenex by my side…
    I remember exactly where I was when I heard the news of her tragic accident (I’ll tell you when you come to Vienna) and I couldn’t believe it.
    Thanks for the review, my dear friend 🙂 xo

    • Dia, I don’t think you need that many kleenex … it’s a feel good movie – but not any tear creator. Rent it … for me it was a feel good film, the ending isn’t that tragic neither. I think it was very well made for what it’s .. heard to tell a story about somebodies love story, when nobody is there to tell the story. I know you will enjoy it. Looking forward to your story. *smile

  3. A wonderful movie review my friend! I have been tossing as to whether I should watch it but I will now – it sounds absolutely incredible!
    And I love love stories 🙂

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    • Uru, I don’t know if the movie will move any mountains for you – it’s a love story and we have to take for what it’s – but I enjoyed watching it .. and I wasn’t bored for 120 min. Please, let me know what you think.

    • The film is more than okay – and I want to believe that the story is true … and who cares really – expect for those two that was involved. We have to take it for what it’s … and not believe that everything was what the film tells us.

    • Thanks, Suzanne …. I couldn’t say it’s anything really bad with the movie – it’s a love story .. true or not – only one person know the truth today.

  4. I always felt a sort of connection to Diana and I don’t know why. Perhaps it’s because we were almost the same age and I felt like we sort of grew into women together. She just happened to grow into a woman with the entire world watching. My heart always went out to her.

    This is going to sound strange, but the night before her accident and death, I dreamed about it happening. The dream didn’t get all of the details correct of the actual event, but it really freaked me out that I had some what of a premonition.

    Thanks for sharing about the movie. I hadn’t heard of it before.

    • I feel sorry for her that she was lured into a marriage so young that never would work … terrible.
      Otherwise I haven’t followed her life that well … but I strongly think she was a very lonely person in all her fame.
      I can image your dream freaked you out … I was watching TV when I was back on my hotel, then she was still “alive” – but when I woke up in morning and looked out my window and all flags was on half mast – I knew.
      I remember day when UK held a silent minute for her and everything in the busy port of Dover just stopped, cars on the stop on the drive over and people stepped outside their cars – and the canons on Dover Castle was fired in her honor. So sad – so sad. I know you will enjoy this movie.

  5. I was always fascinated by Diana. I remember waiting up the late into the night of that fateful accident hoping for good news. Shall certainly watch this if i get a chance Viveka. Thank you for a lovely review 🙂

Leave a Reply

