weekly photo challenge – object

When I read about this weeks challenge – my thoughts went directly back to this photo; my Mikimoto pearl earrings. A  gift of “love” or maybe more a gift of affection from a very special man in my life, given to me in Hong Kong. He haven’t had his own post – yet!!!!! *smile

Mikimoto is in my eyes the most beautiful pearls in the world – visit their shop in Tokyo many years ago and I have never seen jewelries like that in my live. Talk about serious eye-candy. Please visit their stunningly beautiful website; Sophisticated Elegance

Mikimoto Kōkichi (御木本 幸吉?,  (1858 – 1954) was a Japanese entrepreneur who is credited with creating the first cultured pearl and subsequently starting the pearl industry with the establishment of his luxury pearl company Mikimoto. (text; en.wikipedia.org)

Rumors say the Mikimoto was declared insane, when he started to create the cultured pearl. From madness has many geniuses raise!!!

mikimoto earrings - object

“A woman needs ropes and ropes of pearls.”
Coco Chanel

Why not join the challenge or check out all the other objects; Weekly Photo Challenge: Object

50 thoughts on “weekly photo challenge – object

    • Tina, thank you so much for all the love … you sending my way. And I will tell you a secret – I love the post too. *smile – a very delicate gift in more than one way.
      I wish you a pleasant weekend, Tina!

      • Like Tina, I love the story and this post! It’s fun to celebrate yourself and the special man in your life via the beauty of these pearls. 🙂

      • Josette, thank you so much … yes, he was very special in more than one way.
        By the way I really like your name; Josette – beautiful.

  1. My Mum always used to say “pearls for tears”. Silly saying but some things stay with you even if they make no sense, Vivi. I have a pearl choker that my daughter made me- nothing like so fabulous as this special memory for you. 🙂
    I didn’t recognise this music but I did like Vanilla Ice on the last post.
    Expensive hug!

    • Yes, this is a track called “Diamonds & Pearls” Found it on SoundCloud. I love pearls – one of my men said that my skin is made for pearls, olive skin … so I have taken his word.
      I can image your choker is treasures to you. I’m going to bed soon too. Bed-longing hug from me to you.

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Object | Joe's Musings

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Object | To Breathe is to Write

  4. Pingback: An object. Indeed! | Words 'n Pics...

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge / B4 Retouch: Object (Birds eating Nuts) | What's (in) the picture?

    • Bebs, I will think about it – I always said the same to my grandma if she had something pretty I that I liked – a cake tin or something. “When you die, grandma .. can I have it. And I said it often. *smile
      Thank you so much for your lovely comment. Yes, pearls are priceless and so beautiful… have quite a few necklaces – but nothing more of Mikimoto.

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Object | A mom's blog

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Object | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  8. Pingback: Don’t Let Your Children Treat Their Own Child Like Dolls | THE BLACK SPAGHETTI CHRONICLES

Leave a Reply

