pasted best before leftovers …. warm chicken and bacon salad

warm chicken salad, plate close up

Have now started to take seriously look at what I have in my freezer – and I have far too much, so now it’s to time again starting using everything up.

I love chicken liver, and some I have – must be passed its best before date. It’s very difficult to get hold of fresh chicken liver here in Landskrona. So I normally buy when I’m on my booze run in Germany or up in Gothenburg, at one of the Asian Supermarket. And I can remember when I bought fresh chicken liver up in Gothenburg, so …

But defrosted it was healthy dark red and nothing wrong with it at – plus it as of very good quality, nearly no sinews. When I trim chicken liver I normal use a scissor, much easier than doing it with a knife or by hand.

warm chicken salad page 4

I felt for a warm chicken liver salad – normally I use just normal mushrooms, but because the chanterelles very cheap this year – and bought a couple of them instead. Loads of chanterelles this year and only half price of what they use to cost. That was the only ingredients I had to buy, everything else at home.

warm chicken salad page 1

Warm Chicken and Cured Lard Salad with Chanterelles drizzle with Lime Vinaigrette.
Serves 4.
700gr (75oz) chicken liver
200gr (7oz) cured lard, course diced
12 mushrooms, in quarter
14 mini plum tomatoes
1 large red onion, diced
30ml (2tbsp) course Dijon Mustard.
salt and freshly ground black pepper.
Romaine lettuce

warm chicken salad page 2

Lime Vinaigrette PASTE_ITALIAN_HERB_unileverfoodsolutions com
80ml (2.7fl oz) Virgin Olive Oil
1 lime, juice only
1 garlic clove, crushed
15ml (1tbsp) Italian herb paste
Salt & fresh ground black pepper
7,5ml (1,5tsp) sugar
Chopped Italian parsley

Garnish: ½ red onion, thinly sliced lengthways and chopped Italian parsley

warm chicken salad page 3

Start with the dressing – just wish all the ingredients together. The herb paste I used is from Knorr, but you can also use mixed chopped fresh Italian herbs; marjoram, basil, rosemary, oregano and thyme – or just use dried.

If you use fresh chanterelles, make sure that you give them a good brush, because they always bring small amout of the forest into you kitchen – but don’t wash them, just give a good brush.

warm chicken liver salad, page 6

1. Remove all sinews and wash the chicken liver – patch dry with absorbing paper.
2. Finely chopped the red onion and quarter the mushrooms.
3. Cut the cured bacon into lardons
4. Put the frying pan on high heat, add some olive oil and butter in pan add onion, chicken liver and lard – fry for 5 min, add the Dijon mustard.
I like my chicken liver slightly pink – so I only stirred in mustard very quickly and remove the liver to rest.
5. Whip the frying pan clean – add olive oil – quickly fry the mushrooms and mini plum tomatoes. Add a small amount of the dressing on the pan, to coat.
6. Base the plate with the hand ripped lettuce, divide the chicken liver mix on the lettuce, and arrange the mushrooms and the tomatoes on the plates.
7. Drizzle the room temperature warm or warm dressing over the plate.
8. Garnish the thinly sliced red onion and chopped parsley.

on the fork, frame

One of my favorite salads and I had it for my dinner as main – you can of course use it as a starter – you will probably get 6 good size starters out of this recipe.

“Ain’t Nobody Here But Us Chickens” is a 1946 song, by Alex Kramer and Joan Whitney. It was recorded by Louis Jordan and His Tympany Five. but I haven’t a clue how is who is doing this track. It was released in 1946 – so this tune is 2 years older than me. And it still swings just like me *smile

warm chicken liver salad, all gone

“Sticking feathers up your butt does not make you a chicken.”
Chuck Palahniuk

35 thoughts on “pasted best before leftovers …. warm chicken and bacon salad

  1. Am laughing my head off about ‘booze run to Germany’ ?!!!! Is alcohol so much cheaper there to make such petrol usage feasible 🙂 ?!!! Love chicken livers – plenty available here in the country and very, very cheap but one has to get it frozen or else one has to make a 100 km trip north !! Well done liver . . . well, not for me 🙂 !

    • Yes, it can be up to 60% cheaper – and we only go there when the ferry tickets are cheap. It’s a great day out with a couple of friends. We also buy groceries. In Sweden we can only buy alcohol in a goverment owned shop and they are terrible expensive, £30 for 750ml whiskey.

      • A wine-gal am I, but ‘ordinary’ whiskey or brandy [drinkable] is half the Swedish price!!!! Gad, those trips with friends must be happy-giggly ones!! Surprised you do not have ‘limits’ on what you can brig in? Oh, oops, European Community I guess!!

      • The limits are so high for what we can bring in from another EU country.
        10 liters of spirits
        20 liters of fortified wine
        90 liters of wine (including a maximum of 60 liters of sparkling wine)
        110 liters of beer
        800 cigarettes
        400 cigarillos
        200 cigars
        1 kg of smoking tobacco
        How can drink this much … ???? I only buy wine and food. It’s mostly for the girly day out – it’s a day off 18 hours.

      • Heavens to Murgatroyd!! One could start a shop with thos ‘limit’s!!! Have to look up the exact poisiton of Landskrona and guess where the ferry takes you in Germany 🙂 !

      • Landskrona only have ferries to a little island call VEN – no cheap booze there. *smile.
        We drive to Trelleborg and go over to Germany from there.

      • Now you have me guessing ~ where on earth??? Surely not Rostock??? Laughter and guessing and hoping I am somewhere close? . . . 🙂 ! Oh, love the music!!!

      • No we take the ferry between Trelleborg and Sassnitz. 4 hours it takes – and most of our alcohol shopping we do at the Bordershop, that the ferry company has in the port.
        This track we played often at home when I was learning to dance rock n’ roll .. in the age of 8. Love it. So happy I found in and able to use it with a post.

  2. Fantastic recipe! And who knew someone in your country would know that funky song from long ago, one of my favorites: “Ain’t Nobody Here but us Chickens!” Well done, my international sister!!

    • Mary, sorry for the delay in my replay – your comment I found in my spams. It’s a song that I learned to rock n’roll to .. by my step dad, one of his favorite. Brilliant dancer. Haven’t heard it for about 50 years, so happy when I found the track.
      Thank you so much for your lovely comment, yes – I probably could be your international sister. *smile – Like the idea.

    • Mary, I remember this track from my very young age … brilliant tune that always will be funky and very dance-able.
      Thank you so much for the nice comment. Have a great weekend.

  3. Hi Vivi 🙂 It’s your back in the race, rubbish-cook, friend. I have no idea why I read your cookery posts, but like all your posts, they’re good entertainment, and I can tap my toes to the tune. Bet you had a nice supper tonight too. Happy eating! 🙂

    • I didn’t make a supper today – I made a big bowl of porridge with some lingonberry jam on top. Where to busy catching up with my blogging.
      If you ever come to visit – so welcome .. I will show you how to make a great salad. *smile Lovely to have you back!

  4. Your salad sounds delicious. Chicken livers are hard to find in our markets and chanterelles are impossible so your dish would be a real treat if I could find the ingredients.

    • Thank you, Karen. We can get fresh chicken livers on some market halls, but I buy frozen – this autumn there was so much chanterelles, Don’t you have chanterelles over there … you have loads of forest.

Leave a Reply

