one hurdle less – brunch pancakes

champagne1

I’m sure I’m not the only one that has hurdles in life, that never been conquered.
My biggest ones have been making pancakes and omelets. That is me … an Executive Chef not able to make something so simple as an omelet or pancakes, tell me about it. Glad I had great chefs that knows how to do them and do them excellent. On the other hand am I close to world champion on soufflés.

Through the years as a chef New Year’s Eve has meant work and more work …. So if I had New Year off – 90% of those I have spent with somebody I really like; myself. So sick of cooking and guests when it comes to the end of the year, being alone is just heavenly.

I leave New Year’s Eve up to the armatures.

new year ice cream - framed

For the last 25 years I have always started my New Year, after the fireworks … with a big bowl of high quality ice cream and for my first breakfast on the New Year I have served myself Egg Benedictine with wilted fresh spinach together some nicely chilled champagne, but not free.

So I have been buying pancakes either fresh or frozen through all those years …. I know, so sad, so sad. Returning to Sweden I found an outstanding product, frozen brunch pancakes – I was saved. But nothing good last forever as we all know. Now they are not being produces anymore … and now the New Year is on my doorstep. Big time panic, because I need my pancakes.

I had to take the bull by horn and look for a recipe …. and start doing some serious training. Found a recipe with one of our big dairy companies, ARLA – all ingredients at home and so I just went with it.
And they came out perfectly. I couldn’t believe it … from the first one, happy as a puppy.

My first breakfast of 2014 is saved.

2014 first breakfast

Of course I want to share the recipe with you. I used something called “filmjölk” for the recipe. Filmjölk is something we Swedes eats tons of for breakfast or as a snack during the day. Very good for our digestion. I will explain filmjölk better another day. Maybe under 2014 A-Z challenge.

American-Swedish Brunch Pancakes, 8-10 pc
250ml (1,05 cup) plain flour
10ml (2tsp) baking powder
30ml (2tbls) sugar,
2,5ml (1/2tsp) salt
1 egg
250ml (1.05 cup) curdled milk (swedish; filmjölk) – plain natural thick yoghurt will work (not Greek style)

I also melted some butter into rapeseed oil over very low heat – excellent from frying pancakes in – they get perfectly golden.

1. Mix all the dry ingredients together
2. Whisk the egg and whisk in the “filmjölk” – after that mix the dry and wet ingredients together. I used a hand mixer, first on low speed and finish off on the highest to get the mixture as smooth as possible. I let the mixture rest in ambient temperature for about 30 min.
3. After that let’s make pancakes on medium heat. When it starts to form bubbles on the top, it’s time to turn the pancake.

pancake page

I’m sure that every American knows how to make pancakes …. and I have eaten 1000’s in total over there, but I must say that this is the best I had so far, at least what I can remember. *smile

Hello 2014 – just bring on the omelet! Nothing can stop me now!!!!!!!!!!!

“If you find a path with no obstacles,
it probably doesn’t lead anywhere.”
Frank A. Clark

first one out

Photos provided and thanks to;
Ingredients photo page; bbc.uk/icakurieren.se/svd.se/arla.se/phunuonline.com.vn
The rest mine.

47 thoughts on “one hurdle less – brunch pancakes

  1. It is funny that something so simple has eluded you all these years. Congratulations on these fine pancakes. The omelet is so similar that it will be a ‘piece of cake’ when you attempt it. Good luck!

    • I know, but I’m still worried about doing proper pancakes – the big ones. *smile
      I don’t know why I can’t get my head around omelets and pancakes, have tried so many times and then I just given up.
      My omelets I make in a Tupperware micro dish .. works excellent.

  2. That looks like a cross between what in England we called a pancake known as a crepe in North America, and an American pancake which is what we English would call a flapjack. I usually make batches of crepes which I then layer with waxed paper and freeze. They last very well.

    • Jo, now you have me all confused, but that is very easily done *smile …. Brunch pancakes are about 1/2inch thick and 4-5 inches in dia. Crepes are for me very thin pancakes and much bigger … but I can understand why they call them crepes, but crepes are thinner than pancakes.
      I ate them all today – but I will freeze the ones I not using on New Year’s Day. For me flapjacks are a very sweet kind of cookie *smile

    • Pancakes is so such a great dish .. Because you can eat it with what we ever fancy. We eat pancakes every Thursday here in Sweden by tradition, after our yellow pea soup. Then most of us only use sugar on them.

  3. Do you think that filmjölk could be similar to buttermilk Viveka? I make buttermilk pancakes frequently, it’s kind of like ‘sour’ milk, I imagine that it might be an adequate substitute! Your pancakes look beautiful 🙂 Here’s to your new year omelette! xx

    • Laura, I was thinking of buttermilk, but “filmjölk” is thicker, closer to yoghurt. We can’t buy buttermilk in Sweden anymore. You have to have a taste on filmjölk next time you come to Sweden … I eat it for lunch nearly every day with crunched ginger cookies on top.

    • Thank you so much …. for your lovely words – I think we all some hurdles that we aren’t able to go over … because we have failure before.
      Now it’s many, many years ago since I tried to make pancakes and of course there was no pressure on yesterday.

  4. Sounds like a lovely New Year’s breakfast! I get hungry just reading about it.
    Will you watch the New Year’s Concert from Vienna on TV when having breakfast? This time Vivienne Westwood is in charge of the ballet dancers… 😉
    Big hug xo 🙂

  5. and here I was going to offer to come and make pancakes for you… something I’m good at… damn now what am I going to do for breakfast of the New Year…

    • Rob, I would love to have you making my pancakes. What a New Year start that would have been … having you two over for breakfast. Nice thought. And I think you should make some pancakes for you two too – tomorrow. Thanks a million for your offer, you made my day. *smile

      • We learn to substitute and the market has really opened up to gluten free products, in fact I eat a waffle and almond butter every morning for breakfast. I have Crohn’s disease and wheat and gluten elimination has made my life so much easier to live with. 🙂

  6. Bravo, Viveka!! You’ve mastered the perfect pancake! I’ll pin this so I can refer back to it in the next few days. I love a homemade pancake!! I think your filmjölk might be our buttermilk? If we don’t have buttermilk with substitute 1 cup milk with 1 tbsp of vinegar to curdle it.. that’s why I’m thinking it might be buttermilk? But I will make sure to have yogurt on hand too! Happy New Year!! xx

  7. Must try. I always have yogurt and eat a lot – learned that from a Swedish friend years ago. I never found “the right” pancake, including my own, but from the ingredients and picture I can tell this is IT. A Sweet and Happy New Year to you, dear Viveka.

  8. Great music on this one, Viveka! 🙂
    I love your tradition. Yum indeed. Really love Eggs Bennedict. I could SO be there…

    Great recipe, too. I absolutely love pancakes.

    • Yes, I thought the tune was suitable … not to give up *smile – Living in Canada and USA, I had pancakes or French toast nearly every day for breakfast. Just love it.

  9. I can just visualize you dancing around the kitchen to this triumphant music celebrating your making a fine batch of brunch pancakes. Lookout omelets, there is no stopping you now!

    • Yes, I was stepping around after my first batch of pancakes … second one went even better, made them yesterday.
      I’m going to try out first a Ricotta Pancakes recipe that has been hunting me for nearly 2 years soon … then look out omelets. *smile

  10. There is nothing like a batch of buttermilk pancakes, real maple syrup and for me a side of good bacon.
    Now you’ve got me thinking eggs benedict for breakfast tomorrow. Probably after we go watch our Polar Bear Plunge (it’s a balmy 45°F).
    But honestly my favorite part of this post is the first line. You have such a wonderful outlook on life and it’s truly contagious. We do all have hurdles and I love that the ones that come to mind are food when you’ve had some big ones this year.
    God (or insert your preference) bless you and happy life and eating in 2014.
    PS- I use crepe pans for my omelets. Hot and fast.
    xox wendy

    • Wendy, I will never forget one of the first …. post I read of yours – the ricotta pancakes, told you if you make them again I will come to Hamburg and eat them with you – they will be coming up now here in Landskrona.
      I thought about that when I read my post … that of all the hurdles I have been up against through the years … pancakes and omelets comes on top my list – a bit wired, but I have taken on the rest .. the best I could.
      First your Ricotta pancakes … then I got hot and take on the omelet. *smile

    • Wendy, sorry .. but I don’t have a clue what you’re on about here – cooki press gun thingy ???!!!!! I don’t have one for sure, not what I know of!!!!

      • Hi Wendy, I had one 60 years ago when my kids were little. It worked fine but a little tricky. The secret was to turn the handle backward to cut off the dough after each cookie. Where do you live? Maybe it was a US thing. I don’t know if they still make them. Anyway, Happy New Year to you, too.

Leave a Reply

