“why do women cry”

crying_woman_deviantart com

My mother said to me when I was in very young age, that we have the same right to our tears as we have to our laughter and that has always stayed with me. I have never been embarrassed over my tears and I cry when I feel for it – doesn’t matter where I’m or for what reason it may be.

I came across this piece a couple of days ago – and even if I’m not a believer as such – I find it so beautiful and I would like to share it with you. Also because this reminds me so much of my mother, it could be written for/about her. She left me behind 6 months ago.

“Why Do Women Cry”

A little boy asked his mother, “Why are you crying?”
“Because I’m a woman,” she told him.
“I don’t understand,” he said.
His Mom just hugged him and said, “And you never will.”

Later the little boy asked his father, “Why does mother seem to cry for no reason?”
“All women cry for no reason,” was all his dad could say.

The little boy grew up and became a man, still wondering why women cry.
Finally he asked God. He said, “God, why do women cry so easily?”

God said:
” When I made the woman she had to be special.
I made her shoulders strong enough to carry the weight of the world,
yet gentle enough to give comfort.

I gave her an inner strength to endure childbirth and
the rejection that many times comes from her children.

I gave her a hardness that allows her to keep going
when everyone else gives up,
and take care of her family through sickness and fatigue
without complaining.

I gave her the sensitivity to love her children under any and all circumstances,
even when her child has hurt her very badly.

I gave her strength to carry her husband through his faults and fashioned
her from his rib to protect his heart.

I gave her wisdom to know that a good husband never hurts his wife,
but sometimes tests her strengths
and her resolve to stand beside him unfalteringly.

And finally, I gave her a tear to shed. This is hers exclusively to use whenever it is needed.

“You see my son,” said God,
“the beauty of a woman is not in the clothes she wears,
the figure that she carries, or the way she combs her hair.

The beauty of a woman must be seen in her eyes,
because that is the doorway to her heart – the place where love resides.”

(Author unknown)

Images provided by and thanks to: australianhospitalreview.com.au &  deviantart.com

51 thoughts on ““why do women cry”

    • Nia, I made this post a couple of days ago .. a draft, but because of my mental state this evening – I decided to post it. Miss my mum so much just now.
      Thank you so much for the reblog.

    • Colleen, yes I fell in love with this piece when I read it – and my thoughts went straight to my mum. Miss her so much just now. And also the choice of music came to me straight away, Gustav Mahler’s 5th.
      So glad that you enjoyed this.

    • Suzanne, you’re so right – because of my mental status tonight of course I miss her desperately just now.
      My mum was very special .. she was special to everyone that she met.

  1. This is lovely and the music such a beautiful surprise. Missing one’s Mum is one of the hardest things. I’m always thinking, Oh I must tell/show Mum that and even before the thought is complete, I have remembered that I can’t. My heart goes out to you and I send you love at what is clearly a difficult time for you. 🙂

    • Thank you so much for your lovely words … mum nearly reached 91 and I have been okay with her leaving, because she want to leave – but because what happen to me this afternoon, my mental state of mind hasn’t been the best – and my thoughts went to mum, that have been sick for her last years. One drawback after the other.
      Thinking of my mum … makes my heart warm – and there isn’t a day passing without me .. talking to her. But with this post sitting as draft – it felt right to post now.

    • Thanks for your kind words, Karen … wasn’t suppose to be a remembrance of her .. but because of my state of mind this evening. I miss her deeply just now.

      • I know that she would definitely be offering you sweet words and strength right now. One thing you have to know is that she is always with you. I’m sure there is a tear in her eye knowing what you are going through…be strong my dear friend.

      • Karen, thanks a million for being in my corner .. *smile
        Feel a bit better today .. when its about my state of mind.
        Going out shopping .. nothing exciting – only need to clear my head. Would love to take the little camera with me – but I can’t sit long enough to through the card … have so much photos that has be edited already. Some from yesterday.

  2. Seems like whenever I’m thinking of you, I can find you, Vivi. So beautiful, that picture and the music. I’ve read that piece before and it tells it like it is (except I really don’t have all that much patience 🙂 Must go- t’ai chi time. Catch you later. Big hug !

    • Jo, had a good night’s sleep – toke some small help.
      Feeling a bit better … when it’s about my mind – but I’m so sore today – I don’t have a clue how will be able to live with this, when not able to sit – walk or lay down. Of course the doctors “look around” yesterday have done things worst for me.
      You’re not alone … patience have never been on my radar.So you’re a Ninja!! *smile – better look out!

      • So, I guess pain relief only works when it’s strong enough to put you to sleep? Not much help in everyday life. I can hardly believe it’s 6 months since your Mum died! Did you usually spend Christmas with her, Vivi? I bought our tree today and went to the cemetery with wreathes for my Mum and Michael’s. It always feels strange, even after all these years.

        If you feel up to it, here’s my Narnia link. Lisa reminds me so much of my Mum sometimes. Save it till you’re well enough to sit and smile. 🙂
        http://restlessjo.wordpress.com/2013/12/10/christmas-in-narnia/
        More hugs!

    • Need plenty of hugs … and smiles too.
      Yes, Mahler’s 5th is about longing .. and love. He wrote this long symphony (one of the longest ever written) in 1901. Mahler met Alma Schindler, he proposed to her in the fall of 1901, and the symphony, with its from mourning to joy, reflects this development in its his personal life. It’s sad, but one of the most beautiful.

  3. Just beautiful, and it made this woman cry. Heh. Funny you should post this now. I’ve been feeling tears surface lately and I have no idea why. They just keep popping up for no apparent reason. This helped. Thanks for sharing. It’s a keeper. Hugs.

    • Lori, thank you so much for your lovely words and I know exactly your feeling .. this with not being fare away from tears. I think it’s all emotions around Christmas that is coming up. Even if I’m not a big fan of Christmas it’s a very emotional time. Hope that you’re feeling better and I wish you a pleasant week coming up.

  4. Lovely picture and beautiful poem, Viveka! Hope you are feeling better. The darkness grows on you, doesn’t it. I long for the light now – it helps making one less moody too. Have a great week now! Big Warm Hug

    • A-C, yes it has really being dark for days now, but it’s a bright morning now. I feel a lot better this morning and I had a pretty good sleep without any help, so a step in the right direction and I’m thankful for any ease that comes my way.
      Will pack your hugs for the weekend away. Thank you so much for your support.

    • Tahira, I love the story … and the music came to me as I read it – a piece my mum introduced to me many years ago – but I haven’t listen to it for quite a while, lovely piece.
      Thanks for you visit.

  5. I like your mother’s words. I had never thought like that. I thought crying was weak and laughter was all there was meant to be.

    I liked the piece very much, Viveka, but most especially with that music. Beautiful post.

    • Noeleen, the music piece – Mahler’s 5th – my mom introduced me to in my eartly 20’s and I feel in love with it.
      The story – I came across over FB and I think it’s such a lovely story, even if I don’t believe in God.
      So glad you liked this post … because it became very personal to me, even if it wasn’t meant to be.

Leave a Reply

