weekly photo challenge – let there be light!

In Sweden this time of the year light is very important – and on the 4th Sunday before Christmas Eve all windows are lite up here, either with an electric candle (Swedish Welcome Light) or an electric star, sometimes both. And the lights stay until 17 days after Christmas.
The electric candle has become a success all over the world – Sweden export about 3,2 million candles per year and of course IKEA has a big part in spreading this light.
So for the this week’s challenge I have decided to spread some window light from my street, one of my neighbors windows.

I did a post about our famous candles last year; to help you find your way home

winter light

“It is better to light a candle
than curse the darkness.”
Eleanor Roosevelt

Why not join the challenge or check out other’s way to spread the ligth; Weekly Photo Challenge: Let There Be Light!

58 thoughts on “weekly photo challenge – let there be light!

  1. it’s so fun to learn Swedish traditions through your blog! I wonder if they do this in Norway too. My neighbor of Norwegian descent always has battery-operated candles in her windows. I love the way they look. Loved the Eleanor Roosevelt quote too.

    • Thank you, what I understand has the Norwegian taken up our tradition – the electric candle was created by a Swede – you can read more about the tradition – in the link in the post. Quite an intresting history behind our Christmas lights, http://wp.me/p293Pw-4r6

    • Madhu, yes it’s a wonderful tradition – that is why I recommend people to visit Sweden in December, because of all our lights in our windows. Hotels, banks, offices and hosptials has it too.

    • Thanks you so much – yes, it’s a truly lovely tradition – that is why I always recommende people to visit Sweden in December because of all candles and stars in all our windows. I have 4 windows in my apartment and I have a candle in every window – my living room has a big window so it has two plus a star. I wish you and your man a pleasant weekend

  2. I didn’t know this too dear Viveka, I loved it. And when I visit to Ikea I will check I want to have them this year in my windows… yes, I am not Christian, but nothing can stop me to feel like you all… Thank you dear, have a nice weekend, love, nia

    • Nia, IKEA will have both stars and candles, also to have lights in your windows during the dark months of our year is just wonderful, doesn’t matter what religion we have. I wish you a pleasant weekend.

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Let there be some neon light! | Humbled Pie

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Let there be Light (Autumn) | What's (in) the picture?

  5. It is a common practice in New England for a candle to be placed in each front window of a home to be a sign of welcome. It is usually done during the Christmas season nowadays.

      • Everyone uses electric candles now but it was a tradition here to put a real candle in the window originally. I love the tradition and I hope it spreads all over the world. 🙂

      • Same here – with real candles, but so many homes and houses went on fire … you’re so right – let there be light in the dark all over the world.

  6. Pingback: WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: DANCING IN THE DARK | SERENDIPITY

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Let There Be Light! | Through the Eye of Bastet

  8. What a magical photo, Vivi, and I love the music 🙂
    Are you home again? I’ve been too busy running around to post much, but you’ve reminded me to go and turn on my snow 🙂 Better healthwise? (we won’t mention the “b” word 🙂 ) Big hug!

    • Turn on the snow ??? It started all by itself for me … I haven’t turned on anything. *smile
      Yes, been home since Friday evening – had a fantastic time – have done a photo post from my trip.
      Had a brilliant time – still in discomfort and I ended my trip with a sore neck and that was painful, but here I’m and I’m having a pretty good day today.
      Great to be home. *smile

      • I’m just reading your “random” post- should have started there, shouldn’t I? 🙂 Loving your Christmas lights shots and the “listing sideways Titanic” 🙂

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Let there be 75,000 watts of light! | Humbled Pie

  10. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Let There Be Light! (2) | Through the Eye of Bastet

  11. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Let There Be Light | Say It With A Camera

  12. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Let There Be Light! | Chocolate Spoon & The Camera

  13. Pingback: Sunlight | Processing the life

Leave a Reply

