one-pan leftovers …. summer chicken

main dish frame

Here I come with a chicken dish  again – but is there anything more suitable for the summer????
It’s a recipe that I had on file for quite a while – but never tried out before – and I’m glad I did. Excellent dish for a warm sunny summer evening like we had for weeks now. Nothing can beat Sweden when offers a summer like this. And as I said before, I love to have sunshine in my dinner plate.

This is a purely leftover dish – had everything at home …. the chicken pieces I had frozen. I had herb marinade too much chicken – last time I had friends over and because I used fresh chicken I was able to freeze what wasn’t used up. I froze in portion of 2 pieces.

ingredients page

One-pan Summer Chicken, serves 4
8 chicken pieces, skin on
800g (1.8lbs) firm potatoes, cut in chunks
1 garlic bulb, broken into cloves – skin left on
30ml (2tbsp) olive oil
200ml chicken stock (used ½ Knorr stock pots)
1 lemon, halved
2 courgettes, cut in thick batons
1 red chilli, deseeded and sliced
large handful basil leaves, torn
(for chilli and basil I of coursed used Findus frozen chopped – can’t beat it)

chicken page

1. Heat up oven 220C/430F. Pop the chicken, skin side up, in a large roasting tin with the potatoes. Lightly crush the garlic cloves and put in with the chicken pieces. Drizzle over the chicken stock and then season. Squeeze over the lemon juice and pop the halves in the tin.
2. Bake for 40-50 mins, adding the courgettes and chilli 15 mins before the cooking time is up. Remove from the oven when chicken is cooked through and golden, of course make sure the vegetables are tender. Stir through the basil leaves and serve.

Can a dish be more simple??? And only one pan to wash up – that is a big plus for me, because I haven’t got a dishwasher. Great, great dish ..  that also seasoned with loads of sunshine – while I was enjoying it on my balcony.

One of the reasons why I love my little apartment so much .. is that the balcony hangs on to the kitchen. Free from carrying the food through the apartment.

on the plate

“But, soft! what light through yonder window breaks?
It is the east, and Juliet is the sun.
Arise, fair sun, and kill the envious moon,
Who is already sick and pale with grief,
That thou, her maid, art far more fair than she.
Be not her maid, since she is envious;
Her vestal livery is but sick and green
And none but fools do wear it; cast it off.
It is my lady, O, it is my love!
Oh, that she knew she were!”
William Shakespeare, Romeo and Juliet (balcony scene)

Romeo & Juliet - examiner com

With my balcony in mind have I chosen the cloud from Sergei Prokofiev’s ballet based on William Shakespeare’s play “Romeo and Juliet”. Completed by Prokofiev in September 1935, on commission by the Kirov Ballet. I have chosen the “Dance of the Knights”, where the young males from the two families, Montagues and Capulets meet, at a party where Romeo comes uninvited and laid eyes on Juliet for the first time. This piece is also named “Montagues and Capulets”. The tension is between the both families we can hear very clear in this dramatic piece of music.

This ballet I have only seen once – and that was in Monte Carlo at the Salle Garnier -The Opéra de Monte-Carlo and I shared the performance with most members of the Princely family. Monte Carlo has a fantastic ballet ensemble, Les Ballets de Monte Carlo. This was in 1974 and I wore my home-made white silk crepe dress, a Oscar de la Renta copy. A truly magical evening and the dress would still turn heads today.
By way to you know that a reigning prince outranks a royal sovereign.???!!!

oscar de la Renta - vintagepatterns.wikia com

Monte Carlo Ballet & Vouge Pattern images provided by and thanks to: examiner.com & vintagepatterns.wikia.com

52 thoughts on “one-pan leftovers …. summer chicken

    • Yes, it’s amazing … had it for years … and it still looked great when I gave it away. Still the pattern is out there as vintage pattern .. so I could make it all over again – not slim enough for it.
      It was a true head turner.

  1. Wow! That concluding story overshadowed your delicious recipe, I am afraid Viveka! And you tailor your own clothes too??? Your really are an amazing woman 😀

    • Madhu, you know that I love to add a bit drama to my recipes …. Prokofiev, Romeo & Juliet … and a dress – is a big part of my cooking too and my balcony too.
      There will be a post about .. my dress making – nothing can stop me when I have to … and love to. Of course there was a man involved.

    • Yes, I made it myself .. and many more – there will be a post about my dress making .. next week.
      The dress was a show stopper – and I had it up to 1996 and still looking fantastic.
      Monaco was my playground for nearly 3 years … and because of that I had to make my own “haute couture”.

      • Wow, I am seriously impressed 🙂 that you made the dress yourself! I have been to Monaco several times and really enjoyed it there. It’s all a bit “different” 😀
        Have a nice evening and sleep well 🙂 xo

      • Dia, wait to you see the rest of my dresses, suits, coats … *smile – all in the name of love.
        You’re so right – it’s very different … and there was no pain involved what so ever in my visits.
        Sleep well .. you too!

  2. So many pieces of music I recognise but can’t name! I’m very bad 🙂
    Tonight the love story? Are you working on it now? (I love reading snippets of the comments- there isn’t always time but for you, I make time)

    • I wouldn’t cook … if I was visiting Berlin neither … you can bookmark the page – that’s what I do when I come across somebodies inviting recipe.

    • Wasn’t that Shakespeare that said that.
      I know M&S used it on their material shopping bags … in their Food Court.
      Yes, the best life can offer us … food, love and music together with a great wine.

    • What, never been to ballet … and you that love dancing – you will love … please, take your beloved wife and get a magical evening. Swan Lake – so beautiful.

    • Kay, it’s so easy to make – you can’t go wrong – everything in one pot .. in the oven and it’s so good. Please, let me know your verdict.

    • I did the other day again … and my friend from Lima, she loved it … such an easy and quick dish and not pots to wash up *smile – big plus for me. Thank you so much.

Leave a Reply

