weekly photo challenge – cruves

If I ever win enough money on the lottery – here is in this building is where I want to live -of course is it the penthouse I’m looking at – with views and balconies on to both the Chicago River and Lake Michigan.

 

The Aqua - penthouse - yochicago com

My absolute favorite skyscraper is the “Aqua” and holds the 15 floors Radssion Blu Hotel since 2011. It was planned for the Fairmont Hotel to move in, but they built their own across the street. Radisson spent $125 million to develop their first hotel in USA.

It’s the tallest building in USA that has been designed by a woman, Jeanne Gang. Finished in 2010 and rise to 870ft/265mtr.
This was the first building in Chicago to have public charging stations for electric cars.
And for homeowners, not all units are equal. While some people may have a balcony up to 12 feet wide, others will be measuring theirs with a ruler rather than a yardstick. This building’s balconies have a total of seven miles of railings and because of the building’s rippling balconies, each floor plate is unique and each level’s concrete pour was different.
This was one of the filming locations for the 2011 movie “Transformers 3”.

The Aqua was named the Emporis Skyscraper Award 2009 skyscraper of the year, and was shortlisted in 2010 for the biannual International Highrise Award.

The address  for my curves is; 225 N Columbus Dr #220  Chicago, IL 60601, USA.

“A skyscraper is a boast in glass and steel.”
Mason Cooley

Why not enter the challenge or check out all the other entries – Weekly Photo Challenge; Curves

Image of penthouse provided by and thanks to: yochicago.com

61 thoughts on “weekly photo challenge – cruves

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge / B4 Retouch: Curves / Manchester Library | What's (in) the picture?

    • Chicago river … perfect for paddling – the building have quite a few lifts. *smile
      No sea in Chicago – only lake – but big enough to be a sea. So let us keep on dreaming. *smile

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Curves of Glasses | What's (in) the picture?

    • Of course …. always aiming high. If I aim for the moon, maybe I land on a star. *laughing
      But I have to wait until next week now, only $US2,3million. The penthouse is even more FAB!

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge / B4 Retouch: Curves / Manchester Library 2 | What's (in) the picture?

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Red Curves | Humbled Pie

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge / B4 Retouch: Curves / Saint Rémy-de-Provence | What's (in) the picture?

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge / B4 Retouch: Curves / Shibam | What's (in) the picture?

    • You are more than welcome to visit … after I moved in.
      Yes, what a view … worth 2,3 million ???? Maybe not … but if I can afford it .. I buy it. *smile

    • It’s such a beautiful building … on a distance it looks like water coming down the sides of the building .. very environment friendly too plus a fantastic location. Thanks a million for your kind words .. easy to get great photos if you like the object. *smile

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Curves | Joe's Musings

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge / B4 Retouch: Curves / Avignon | What's (in) the picture?

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge / B4 Retouch: Curves / Al-Janad Mosque | What's (in) the picture?

    • This year I have stayed at home … but last year I travelled to US & Canada for 28 days. I wish I could afford more traveling, because I have all the time in world.

  10. Pingback: Photo Challenge: Trial 4 – Curves around the house | Bastet and Sekhmet

    • Tina, have heard about the winters Chicago – but as a Swede I think I will survive … but if I can afford that penthouse I can afford to go to Southern France in the winter too.
      I wouldn’t mind trying Chicago for a winter.

  11. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge : Curves | Denis Danze Photographe Freelance

    • Looking forward to your visit – I’m so afriad of heights, but I can live high up – after I stayed at 72 floor on a hotel in Boston many years ago. Fantastic feeling. So long I don’t see the ground under my feets … The building is even more beautiful in real.

  12. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Curves | Far Away

    • *LAUGHING
      If I could afford to live here I can afford house keeping too. So you can come and visit me … will have space enough without doing any cleaning.

Leave a Reply

