something bought, something frozen, something borrowed leftovers

Lamb is without a doubt is my favorite meat – something I learned to enjoy, because when I was growing up we had sometime something called “Får I Kål” (sheep in cabbage, belongs to Irish Stew family) and it tasted just wool, but this now 50 years ago.

We, Swedes, haven’t been big eaters of lamb until we start travel aboard to the Mediterranean countries – where lamb taste as it should do and we started to use garlic. Most of us Swedes had experience from lamb that it was tasting wool.

Lidl, sold last year what they called “Lamb T-Bones” – six to a pack, frozen – very small as lambs are (don’t let us go down the road – feel always guilty in the spring when I eat lamb). From New Zealand and I bought 4 pack, great price.

IMG_9839

Have used up some of them, because my friend Anna-Lisa (Stockholm) love anything that has lamb in. So it was time to spoil myself for dinner after another sepia day and a wet one too.

Garlic Marinade Lamb T-bones  on
Whole Wheat Couscous served with Tzatziki

I had a poach of bought garlic marinade – didn’t look, but I guess it had passed it’s best before date. There is a big difference in “best before” and “use by” –
“Best before” is only a recommended guideline for long life products and dry goods.
It doesn’t mean you have to throw it out – it’s only that it may have lost some of it’s quality.
“Use-by” means that you should use by that day – and never freeze anything on it’s last day of the stated date, because it’s on it’s finally leg and when defrosted there can be severe health issues and if it not used on day of defrost it can become dangerous.
So always freeze product at least 2 days before “use by”
This is the Executive chef  in me giving you advice.

Marinade the lamb for about 3 hours out in ambient temperature.
For the couscous I decide to got back to Barbara’s – Lebanese Couscous (borrowed) – that I really like, but didn’t have all the ingredients. Didn’t have sherry tomatoes or fresh herbs.

So I used a big regular tomato – and 2 big garlic cloves – and baked in the oven, as Barbara’s recipe says. When ready I used ½ tomato for the dressing and the other halve I coarsely chopped for the couscous.

lamb page 1

The dressing I did exact to her recipe too – that dressing is so GoOOoOood!
Had the olives – that I just halved, but no fresh mint or Italian flat parsley – but I had “Findus” frozen chopped Italian herbs (witch I adore). Did the couscous to cooking instructions – this type couscous need to be cooked over low heat for 12 min and rest for 5 min under lid. When that was done I added olives and the chopped ½ tomato – put it back on low heat and add some of the dressing and heated it back up – added loads of the Italian herb mix. Also before I grilled the lamb – I  soft fried some coarse chopped red onion that I also added to the couscous.

The small “t-bones” I only grilled in my grill pan for about 4 min on each side – that was the last thing I did – because I want my lamb to medium and with small pieces of meat like that it goes so quick to grill.

Tzatziki (bought) I buy ready made – can be bothered with doing one portion from scratch. Great product and a small size tub – last me for 2 serves.

lamb page 2

What I got was a fantastic dish – witch I would gladly have paid around $18.00 and more for on a better restaurant. It was so flavorful – all down to Barbara’s couscous recipe.

For my music cloud today is a track I found on Soundcloud – it’s called “Couscous en Boite”, witch means “Couscous In a Box” or “Couscous Package” – don’t have a clue who the artist or composer is – but I like the music. A very happy tune and it makes me want to dance plus I have a little thing for Middle Eastern music. Maybe because of my Lebanese boyfriend in early 70’s.

“A nickel will get you on the subway,
but garlic will get you a seat”
Proverb quote

close up

38 thoughts on “something bought, something frozen, something borrowed leftovers

    • Thank you, Julie … my blog was suppose to be a recipe book, but I didn’t feel comfortable with only doing that .. I’m so much more than food – I would have gone bored to death.
      Have friends that has been nagging me about doing a cookery book – not famous enough .. and it cost so much money with food stylists and everything else.

      If I ever do a cookery book – the title be: “Not Famous, but I Can Cook”

  1. Wow this does sound tasty… I wish you could taste our Karoo and Kalahari Lamb, it is raised free range and as there is not much grass to eat, these sheep feed on the herb shrubs that grow naturally every where… now this herb bush can be tasted in the meat.. no additions need be made not even garlic, saddle chops grilled or braaied (barbecued) there is nothing like it…. it has a taste all of its own… my mouth waters just thinking of how much we have eaten in the last month… a little lemon juice before cooking and hey presto you have a winner…. lovely post Viveka…

    • Thank you so much … for you kind words.
      Never been to South Africa, so I don’t know how your lamb … is – we eat mostly New Zealand lamb up here.
      The best lamb I had so fare … was Salt Spring Island lamb, BC – Canada. And also “Kentish” lamb in UK – the meat gets the salt from the ocean air while lambs are walking about the White Cliffs of Dover.
      Can’t bet a good lamb .. you make me drool now. Lemon goes so well with lamb .. not too keen on the mint sauce as the Brits eat it, but I eat it. Have to visit South Africa now.

      • If you ever see Karoo Lamb advertised buy some… it is so different to all the rest… hate the mint sauce thing too, meat must be savored for it’s natural taste as far as I’m concerned … but a light herb dusting or adding lemon juice is how I prefer my meat… not that I confine myself to that but it is my preference…

    • Me too … just love lamb – going to have lamb ribs, also leftovers this weekend.
      Defrosted my freezer yesterday – I can feed the all my neighbors for a week.

  2. Ohhh Jesus Christ Viveka!!!!
    This is delicious, I have a box of that couscous I got in Turkey last year, I think I’ve found the right recipe for this weekend.
    I loved the song.

    • You see, I’m not only a pretty face or lips .. *smile
      I love the song too – some guy sitting at home … playing around and then he upload it to Soundcloud.

      Not a big rice .. eater, but I really like couscous – just click on Barbara’s link and you will get the whole recipe.
      Stunning dish.

      Normally I take soft fried onion, pine kennels and raisins with spices – in my couscous.

  3. Viveka, amb is also my favorite meat. I would rather have a good chop or a rosemary leg of lamb then a steak anytime. This looks absolutely wonderful. I will try it over the weekend. Susie

    • Susie, just click on Barbara’s link .. and you will get the recipe for the couscous – it’s to die for .. one of the best dishes I had for a long time.
      I hardly eat beef … give me lamb every day .. just love.
      The lamb I just marinade in a ready made garlic marinade .. quick. Let me know. Please.

  4. can you tell me how use a fresh garlic. i have one in my refrigerator and don’t know what to do with it. it has been there since Christmas day is it too old now to use?

    • Terry, fresh garlic will not go bad – it will eventual disappear – the peels will be empty, but up to then you can use it. Garlic you can use in anything – crushed or finely sliced, very good for you too.
      I use it nearly every day in my cooking. You can use it mash potatoes – very good, but only a clove if you eat alone. And I put it in with the potatoes when they have been boiling halve time. Then just mash it with the potatoes.

  5. You know by now that I’m a picky eater, but your food always looks mouthwatering. So I trust it’s just as delicious as it looks 🙂 One day I’ll get to taste your wonderful meals! Righty? 😉

  6. I love reading your recipes.. because they’re written as you’d make them and include the complete meal. I’m glad you made up the couscous again, because your changes sound wonderful. I’m always forgetting to make changes and get a little more creative with what’s already in my fridge. I love lamb.. but, like you, I can’t think about it too much, just purchase it already packaged.. otherwise I would be a vegetarian:) xx

    • When it’s about your couscous .. I eat it with anything really. It’s such a wonderful dish.
      There is no difference in sherry plum tomatoes or big original ones, when they are prepared the same way.
      The herbs made a difference, fresh mint – and basil, big difference but it became Mediterranean instead of Middle East. Don’t have a choice, have to use up what I have – because I can’t anything more into my draws.

      I try not to eat lamb in the Spring – but on the other hand lambs are about 1 when they becomes lamb chops.

  7. This brings back memories of trying to buy a leg of lamb in Denmark and how it was to find them, and how expensive Danish Lamb was. Thankfully we found imported New Zealand lamb, so much cheaper. I love lamb too, slow cooked with garlic, oregano, lemon and rosemary. Yummy

    • The Scandinavian farmers are not into sheep and lambs at such – so I understand that lamb was expensive, but still cheaper than fresh local beef. Ireland has fantastic lamb too. But the most common is NZ if frozen.
      But my supermarket, they only have Swedish framed meats when it’s about their fresh meats and their lamb is so good. So things are changing. The small T-bones I use was cheap and so tasty.
      Lemon is so tasty with lamb.

  8. Thank you! I have started to use lamb more the recent years. One of my best friends has started a business at his farm, selling meat and home made food. Their lambs are their own and you can get recipies too. Just lovely. I used to hate lamb, but I guess the difference is fresh, meat from well known farms and really good recipies!

    • Lamb is so great when it’s cooked the right way – otherwise terrible. When I live in UK and on Ireland, did I have lamb once a week and at work I had it nearly everyday. My Irish Stew is out of this world. *laughing
      CityGross has good Swedish lamb.

  9. You can cook! I’m a lamb lover too. We had a nice local leg for Christmas dinner I did in a clay pot. And a little secret… I love dipping cold lamb the next day into the mayonnaise jar 🙂
    This dish looks sooooo good!

    • Wow … some naughty secrets you have.
      Lamb is a fantastic meat – like the idea about clay pot – didn’t know they made them so big that you can get a leg of lamb into one.
      I bet that smelled good when you lifted that lid.

Leave a Reply

