“if you jump, i jump”

titantic - legrandcirque.tumblr com

RMS Titanic
(Royal Mail Steamer Titanic)

Belfast is the birthplace of Titanic-  that I think most of you know by now.
Harland & Wolff was a big ship building yard for nearly 100 years, in the beginning of the 1900 one of the biggest in the world. And they still have the biggest dry dock in the world, 556 m x 93 m. Stena Line (once WE)  used  the yard every year for refits of our giant catamarans and still do for their vessels. stena voyager - geograph ieHarland Wolff's carnes - blog.joinsmsn com

A small part of the yard do repairs today – but no vessels are being build and today the yard privately owned by Fred. Olsen Energy, a Norwegian company.

“The yards twin shipbuilding gantry cranes which were named after the Biblical figures Samson and Goliath, dominate the Belfast skyline and are landmark structures of the city. Each crane has a span of 140 metres (459 ft) and can lift loads of up to 840 tonnes to a height of 70 metres (230 ft), making a combined lifting capacity of over 1,600 tonnes, one of the largest in the world. Prior to commissioning, the cranes were tested up to 1,000 tonnes.” (text; en.wikipedia.org)

titanic page

Belfast have made their main shopping street, Donegall Place, to one direction and they have decorated the street with stunning flags with photos of all the biggest vessels that was built at Harland and Wolff – and in the pavement in front each flag is there a placards with information about each vessel. So beautiful done. (my photos) – as you can see they were busy once – a lot of flags. titanic building - bbc.co uk

This year the Titanic Belfast” opened – the most amazing building and the people I know that has visit, all say it’s a fantastic experience. I dare to say that the building is one of the most stunning modern buildings I seen – even more beautiful then Frank Gehry’s Guggenheim Museum in Bilbao, Spain. Architect Eric Kuhne’s ultra-modern building resembles the hulls of four ships, 6-floor building.

The building is clad in metal shards and when the light plays on them it looks like the movement of water. From above, the building resembles a white star, the symbol of Titanic’s operators and owners, White Star Line.

titanic - zdnet.co kr

In November 2011 National Geographic identified Titanic Belfast as the main attraction for visitors to look forward to in 2012, after naming Belfast among the world’s top 20 travel destinations for the year.

Next time will I stay a day extra in Belfast and I will visit the museum – and also to the bus tour … even if I lived there for 10 years – haven’t never been a tourist in Belfast and haven’t taken one photo of the city – during all those years. Have a lot of catching up and next year I will go on.

To read more read more about my Belfast – click the Belfast tag.

“Until the moment she actually sinks, the Titanic is unsinkable.”
Julia Hughes

Titanic Belfast- mulitvu com

Photos and picture provided by and thanks to;
bbc.co uk/ legrandcirque.tumblr com/zdnet.co.kr/blog.joinsmsn.com/  tonnesbelfasttelegraph.co.uk/mulitvu.com/geograph.ie

42 thoughts on ““if you jump, i jump”

  1. That’s really interesting.
    I’ve never been in Belfast, however, a friend recently moved there and that gives me an “excuse” to visit that city. There’s a Titanic exhibit going on in here, is huge, everybody says is great I gotta check it out.

    • It’s a permenent exhibit that opened this spring – everybody say it’s truly amazing. You should visit Belfast – brilliant city and far better than Dublin those days.

    • Thank you so much – I’m trying to show Belfast as it’s today – and destroy the picture that most people have about the city, that hasn’t been true for over 13 years.
      Today Belfast is one of the top 20 destinations in the world. Excellent.

      • When we started to visit Ireland everyone we spoke with who had been, had told us that Belfast (and all of Northern Ireland) was beautiful. No one who has been comes back with a bad impression (that I have talked to.)

      • Everybody I know that has been visiting Belfast love it – but there is still a lot of people that think Belfast is a war zone – because that it the picture they have been given through media. The picture has changed and no the cruise liners are coming in flocks in the summer, before American tourists was just passing by Belfast.

      • I know, I was told these things by people when I visited Northern Ireland. Our stay in Belfast was short. But we spent a week outside of Donegal and rode our bikes in and out and about Northern Ireland for a week. Took many trips through Northern Ireland and loved it. Have you ever had Tickety Moo Ice Cream??? 🙂

      • Tickety Moo Ice Cream??? Nerver heard of! Does it come from Northern Ireland???? Maud’s Ice Cream I know about and it comes from Belfast. Donegal is a wonderful place – have friends that lives in Noo. So you were on a bike holiday on Ireland – that must have been both tough and wonderful. Were you luck with the weather???

      • We were VERY lucky with the weather. We rented a house for a week on a mountain. And rode our bikes most days we were there. Then would travel by car further in to the north. Husband had found Tickety Moo on line or saw something somewhere. I can’t remember where it was, I could find it if I looked I bet. It was a dairy farm that raise their own cattle, and make and sell their ice cream from start to finish. It was fantastic!

      • Wow what an adventure and glad you had great weather. Have look for the ice cream – I’m sold on Mövenpick ice cream – Austrian.

  2. Great information, dear Viveka! Hadn’t thought about going to Belfast…this changes it. – Wen’t to the Titanic exhibition in Hamburg many years ago – wow, loved everything of it. Still would love to do a trip with the QEII or the Queen Mary to New York some day…just afraid of the ice bergs 😉 xo

    • I worked on cruise liner for exactly a year .. and after that cruises are not my way to travel – but I would like to do a Transatlantic cruise from Southampton or Dover … to New York. When I win on the lottery. *smile – but I will visit the Titanic Belfast before that. People I know that has been visiting the museum say it’s amazing.

  3. NO, I didn’t know Belfast was the birthplace of the Titanic! You always teach me something, Viveka 🙂

    This is a heaps interesting post, Viveka, but you won’t believe me – I have never seen The Titanic!! I have just had this impression it’s too gooey gushy sentimental. Even that main song (that you had playing – which is lovely, actually) – even that has put me off wanting to watch it!

    I might one day…. one day…

    • Noeleen, I’m not a big fan of the movie .. neither – seen it once and that was okay – but I’m very interested in the history of the Titanic in itself and that Belfast have got something now that will put the city on the world’s top destination list for visiting, because Belfast has a sad and bloody history – and it has changed so much and worth all the boost it can get. I lived there for 10 years so I know how great the city truly is.

Leave a Reply

