tom’s “lola” …. full of flavors

“LOLA”
2000 4th Avenue,
Seattle, WA 98121
Phone: (206) 441-1430
Contemporary Mediterranean – Greek
$$
Executive chef; Liam Spence
Belongs to Tom Douglas Group

Now are we back to my 27 days journey in US and Canada during July – and we are in Seattle. Have read about this Tom Douglas and all his popular places in Belltown – he are the biggest name in American Northwest with many awards on his mantelpiece. If visiting Seattle you have a good range of his restaurants to choose from and they have all good reviews:

  • Dahlia Lounge
  • Dahlia Bakery
  • Etta’s Seafood
  • Lola
  • Palace Kitchen
  • Serious Pie Virginia
  • Seatown Seabar and Rotisserie
  • Serious Pie Westlake
  • Cuoco
  • Brave Horse Tavern
  • Ting Momo

Tom also have specialty food line, which includes “Rub with Love” spice rubs plus barbecue and teriyaki sauces, is sold nationwide.

I chose “LOLA” because it was only 2 min walk from my hotel and my first evening (Sunday) in Seattle after 22 years – plus because of all the great reviews with “OpenTable”who witch I booked through.

When I arrived they couldn’t find my booking – but it wasn’t that busy, was there around 8pm – so no problem as such, only thing was that the next day I had an email from “OpenTable” asking me very nicely why I hadn’t kept my booking. Explained and they was going to contact the restaurant.My very nice and friendly waiteress, Donica – what a beautiful name by the way – she explained the dishes. Didn’t have a pre-dinner drink, wonder why ????

My starter was a spread of kopanisti with pistachio and Mavrodadphe served lovely toasted bread. Kostanisit is soft blue cheese made from sheep milk flavored with pepper, witch give it a strong flavour and Mavraodphe is a sweet red Greek wine. A really nice starter and very Greek.

As a main course I had the most gorgeous tanige with suckling pig, spicey harrisa, preserved lemon, cous cous and crispy skin (as they call it on the menu, I would call it crackling) – came in a little pot with lid and when I took that lid of the aroma was heavenly. A really great dish so full of flavours and the meat just fell apart. Wonderful .. wonderful.With my two dish I had a big glass of Greek red wine, Notios Agiorgitiko – have always been a fan of Greek wines since my 3 months in “Athens” … in 1976. Never see Greek wines on wine menus in Sweden, I suppose if I went to a Greek restaurant – don’t happen very often. Wondering why I don’t eat Greek at home ????!!! It is a brilliant wine – a little violet to it’s color – all depending on the grape, Agiorgitiko, that they are using. A brilliant choice of mine.

My finale dish – my dessert – of course I had to try theirs famous Louktoumathes with cinnamon, honey and walnuts. Really small round doughnuts, very likeness the famous beignets of New Orleans – dusted with cinnamon, drizzled with honey and finished of with chopped walnuts .. and are a New Year’s Eve tradition in many parts of Greece. Also something they have in Turkey. Anyhow they where lovely and with them I had my standing order of a cappuccino.

My evening was full of Greece and it’s flavours, wonderful … and the whole experience went to $62.00/CA$60.00/€ 47.70/£ 38.15 with tip include.

One of my blogging sisters, Wendy@“Chez Chole” – that has her summer hide away on one of the hundred beautiful islands in Puget Sound, had some great meals with “LOLA” too. It’s a place full of flavours and their breakfast is supposing to be one of the best in town, but I had mine at Pike Public Market at “Lowell’s”.

One thing for sure .. if I ever go back to Seattle will I definitely spend another evening with “LOLA”. Tom’s “LOLA” is a full bodied, spicy and flavorful girl!

“Between the optimist and the pessimist, the difference is droll.
The optimist sees the doughnut; the pessimist the hole!”
Oscar Wilde

Photos provided by and massive thanks to:
living4food.blogspot.com/tomdouglas.com/ thegoodeater.com/
seattletimes.com/steveusa com/ groupon.com/ restaurant-hospitality.com/
aht.seriouseats.com/ kondor.com.gr/ ultraclay.com/ whitecoatgourmet.com

25 thoughts on “tom’s “lola” …. full of flavors

    • Yes, it’s a great place … and I love the name too. Whis that I could have found a song on Greek about LOLA – but no luck, but the restaurant is spicy like Ricky’s LOLA here.

  1. Wow, Viveka, this looks like such a wonderful restaurant and I can’t believe you had all those lovely dishes for such a low price? I hadn’t heard of this chef and now I will be on the look out for his restaurants the next time I go for a holiday! xx

    • He is the main man .. in Seattle – this restaurants have a wide range of different kitchen. Click on LOLA so will you come into his group. Seattle are a really good foddie city. If you click on my tag “Seattle” will get all the places I was to.

  2. I get so hungry from reading your post that I will have lunch early today. Nice with Greek wine, it’s true I don’t see it very often either. I’ll try some when lady-baby is out 😉

    • Don’t make me jealous now … with saying you’re going back to Seattle – I want to go too. You can just click on my tag – Seattle and you will have all my reviews there.
      Some great places.

Leave a Reply

